Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clinton County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clinton County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Clinton County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Clinton County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Clinton County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Clinton County Courthouse
46 S. South Street
Wilmington, Ohio 45177
Clinton County Website
Phone: 937.382.2103


Clinton County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1810 1867 1810 1806 1810 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Highland and Warren counties 19 February 1810.[2]
  • County Seat: Wilmington

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for former U.S. Vice President George Clinton. [3]It's county seat is Wilmington and was founded March 1, 1810. It is located in the West Central area of the state. [4]

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Greene County  • Fayette County  • Highland County  • Brown County  • Clermont County  • Warren County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstone

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 2,674
1820 8,085 202.4%
1830 11,436 41.4%
1840 15,719 37.5%
1850 18,838 19.8%
1860 21,461 13.9%
1870 21,914 2.1%
1880 24,756 13.0%
1890 24,240 −2.1%
1900 24,202 −0.2%
1910 23,680 −2.2%
1920 23,036 −2.7%
1930 21,547 −6.5%
1940 22,574 4.8%
1950 25,572 13.3%
1960 30,004 17.3%
1970 31,464 4.9%
1980 34,603 10.0%
1990 35,415 2.3%
2000 40,543 14.5%
2010 42,040 3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local History[edit | edit source]
  • Brown, Albert J., History of Clinton County, Ohio: its people, industries and institutions… (Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen & Company, 1915) Digital version at Google Books; FamilySearch Digital Library; on microfilm at FHL film 934886 Item 1.
  • History of Clinton County, Ohio : containing a history of the county, its townships, cities, towns, schools, churches, etc., general and local statistics, portraits of early settles and prominent men… (Chicago : W.H. Beers & Co., 1882) Digital version of Volume 1 at FamilySearch Digital Library; on microfilm at FHL film 934885 Item 2.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. =====Finding More Land Records===== Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:

Maps[edit | edit source]

Greene CountyFayette CountyHighland CountyBrown CountyClermont CountyWarren CountyOH CLINTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Finding More Ohio Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the {{{1}}} County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records. Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clinton County Courthouse
46 S South Street
Wilmington, Oh 45177-2214
Phone: 937.382.2103 

Probate Judge has birth and death records 1867-1908, marriage and probate records from 1810.
County Health Office has birth and death records from 1908.
County Recorder has land records from 1810.
Court Clerk has divorce and court records from 1810.[2]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy is the Wilmington Ohio Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

:*1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinton County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 541, Clinton County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clinton_County,_Ohio accessed 2/14/2017
  4. https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Clinton_County,_Ohio_Genealogy accessed 2/14/2017
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Clinton County, Ohio County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clinton_County,_Ohio, accessed 6 November 2018.