Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Clinch County

Guide to Clinch County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Homerville
Organized: February 14, 1850
Parent County(s): Ware, Lowndes[1]
Neighboring Counties
Atkinson  • Baker (FL)  • Columbia (FL)  • Echols  • Lanier  • Ware
See County Maps
Courthouse
Clinch County Courthouse; Homerville, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Clinch County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Duncan Lamont Clinch. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Clinch County Courthouse
100 Court Square
Homerville, GA 31634
Phone: 912-487-2667
Clinch County Website

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1919, marriage and probate records from 1867.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1867, land records from 1868, voters list from 1890 and old county newspapers from 1895.[3]

Clinch County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1867 1919 1868 1867 1850

Record Loss

1856 and 1867 The courthouse was destroyed by fire in June 1856, and in September of 1867 its replacement also burned. None of the courthouse records remain from before those fires.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1850 Clinch County was created 14 February 1850 from Ware and Lowndes Counties.
  • County seat: Homerville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Clinch County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Clinch, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Clinch County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinch County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Huxford, Folks. History of Clinch County, Georgia: Revised to Date: Giving the Early History of the County Down to the Present Time (1916), Also Complete Lists of County Officers, Together with Minor Officers and Also Sketches of County Officers' Lives, with Chapters on the Histories of Old Families of Clinch County, Also Other Information as is Historical in Its Nature. Macon, Ga.: J.W. Burke Co., 1916. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Gaclinch.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Clinch County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clinch County:

- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies C, D, and E
- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G


  • History of Clinch County, Georgia: revised to date, giving the early history of the county down to the present time (1916). 1916. Macon, Georgia: J.W. Burke (page 56-70) 975.8812 H2h
  • Georgia. Superior Court (Clinch County). 1966. Confederate roster of Clinch Co., 1862. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 456005 item 1
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Clinch County). 1966. Confederate pension roll, 1896-1920. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 470002 item 1


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clinch County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clinch_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20-21. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.