Clifton Reynes, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Clifton Reynes, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Clifton Reynes, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Newport Pagnell|
|Registration District||Newport Pagnell|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1576|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
CLIFTON-REYNES (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newport-Pagnell, hundred of Newport, county of Buckingham, 1½ mile (E. by S.) from Olney.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Clifton Reynes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Buckinghamshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Clifton Reynes Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Clarke, Sheila M. Does Anyone Else Out there Belong to Joseph? Family tree of Joseph Robbins (Robins) 1742 and Sarah Lyon of Clifton Raynes, Buckinghamshire. and descendants some of whom were born in Ravenstone, Buckinghamshire. Surnames Butlin, Watson, Ward, Clarke. Article dated 1742-1932, and is to be found in Footprints, vol.18,no4, pages 44-46, Family History Library Reference 942.55 D25fo vo.18.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Clifton Reynes on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 4 June 2013.