Clewer, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clewer, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Clewer

Guide to Clewer, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clewer, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ripplesmere
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Windsor
Registration District Windsor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

CLEWER (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Windsor, hundred of Ripplesmere, county of Berks, 1 mile (W.) from Windsor. A Roman Catholic chapel was erected.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clewer parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Clewer Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1607-1860
1607-1913
1607-1960
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1607-1812, 1653-1769, 1708-1812, 1813-1836,
1813-1860, 1814-1836, 1860-1889, 1889-1897

1607-1812, 1681-1707, 1708-1854, 1813-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1653-1987
1653-1987
1653-1987
FS Catalog BTs
1608-1836
1608-1836
1608-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Clewer in GENUKI


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 632-635. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk