Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Cleveland County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Cleveland County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 Description
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church Records
- 5.4 County Records
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Education
- 5.7 Land
- 5.8 Local Histories
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Benjamin Cleveland, a colonel in the American Revolutionary War, who took part in the Battle of King's Mountain. The County has Hastings as its seat and the County was created 1871. The County is located in the west area of the state.
Cleveland County Courthouse
11 East Marion St
P O Box 1210
Shelby, North Carolina 28150
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914
Marriage records from 1851 and land records from 1841
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1921
Probate records from 1843 & Circuit records from 1914
Register of Deeds
PO Box 1210
Shelby, NC. 28151-1210
Clerk of Superior Court
100 Justice Pl
Shelby, NC 28150
Telephone: (704) 476-7800
Cleaveland was originally used but the present spelling was adopted in 1887.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
For tips on accessing Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Mount Harmony United Methodist Church, near Polkville, N.C. Organized by 1791.
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E
- - 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company D
- - 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, 1st Company D
- - 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company C
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company C
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company D
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company I
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1841 - 1868, 1910-1942 - Will Books 1, 4, and 5 (1841-1868, 1910-1942) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1840-1848 - Cleveland County Tax Scroll, 1840-1848 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1849-1857 - Cleveland County Tax Scroll, 1849-1857 (images) online at FamilySearch: Part 1 and Part 2
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Cleveland County Obituaries - misc. obits; from GenealogyBuff.com
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1870 - 1938 - Cleveland County Marriage Index 1870-1938 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Broad River Genealogical Society
PO Box 2261
Shelby, NC 28150-2261
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Cleveland County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cleveland County NCGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives-Cleveland County, NC
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cleveland County, North Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cleveland_County,_North_Carolina." accessed 01/10/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cleveland County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Mount Harmony United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.