Old Clee, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Old Clee, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Old Clee, Lincolnshire|
Old Clee Holy Trinity Grimsby Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Grimsby|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
CLEE (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the parliamentary borough of Grimsby, union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Grimsby. It encompasses with the township of Cleethorpe the hamlets of Thrunscoe and Weelsby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
This parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of Caistor registration district until 1890 reorganisation when it became part of Grimsby registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Old Clee Par 1 will identify available images.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Clee in Genuki links to Cleethorpes
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 626-632. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
British Listed Building