Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Cleburne County
 

Guide to Cleburne County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Heber Springs
Organized: February 20, 1883
Parent County(s): White, Van Buren, and Independence [1]
Neighboring Counties
Faulkner  • Independence  • Stone  • Van Buren  • White
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasCleburneCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-cleburne.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620
Cleburne County website

County Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court, and land records from 1883.[2]

Cleburne County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1883 1914* 1883 1883 1883
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Cleburne County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Cleburne County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1812 - The earliest known Anglo-Americans to settle in what is now Cleburne County were John Benedict and his brothers-in-law, William, Davis, and John Standlee.
  • 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee agreed to give up their reservation in exchange for lands west of Arkansas Territory.
  • 1850s - By midcentury, there were colonies of families who had traveled together from Kentucky or Tennessee.
  • 1861 - At the time of the Civil War, what was to become Cleburne County had fewer than 1,000 residents.
  • 1870 - The area had lost population.
  • 1880 - The county swiftly recuperated, with the population almost doubling, from 2,210 in 1870 to 4,025 in 1880.
  • 1883 January 27 - The new county was formed from parts of Independence, Van Buren and White counties.
  • 1908 - Construction of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad (M&NA) opened the remote valley to the world.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cleburne, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Presbyterian

Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman

  • 1878-1885 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Baptism Index 1878-1885. Batch C586771 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1878-1895 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Marriage Index 1878-1895. Batch M586771 at FamilySearch - free.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1881-1962 Cleburne County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1883-1918; Chancery Court records 1883-1897; Dockets 1883-1893; Probate record index 1881-1962; Probate records 1883-1897; Wills 1901-1923.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Cleburne CountyWhite CountyFaulkner CountyConway CountyVan Buren CountySearcy CountyStone CountyIndependence CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyPerry CountyPope CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyARCleburne.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Cleburne County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Evalena Berry, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=756&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 12, 2016), “Cleburne County.”
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.