Clayton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Clayton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Here is a comprehensive List of Churches and Chapels within Bradford St Peter Parish Boundary.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLAYTON (St John the Baptist), a chapelry in the township of Clayton, in the borough, market-town, and the parish of Bradford St Peter. Bradford's boundary comprised the townships of Allerton, North Bierley, Bowling, Bradford, Clayton, Eccleshill, Heaton, Manningham, Shipley, and Wilsden, and the chapelries of Haworth, Horton, and Thornton--were all in Bradford St Peter's Ancient parish. St. James and St. John (both at Horton Township); St. Jude's chapelry is listed under the township of Manningham. There were other chapels that have been erected within the parish--including at Bierley, Bowling, Buttershaw, Clayton, Daisy-Hill, Denholme-Gate, Eccleshill, Haworth, New Leeds, Manningham, Oxenhope, Shipley, Stanbury, Thornton, Wibsey, and Wilsden.
Other places of worship include for: Baptists, Quakers/Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyan Methodist, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Clayton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|CLAYTON CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records|
|BRADFORD PARISH (1596) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Clayton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bradford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRADFORD PARISH page.
To determine the names of all chapelries attached to and comprising this large parish boundary, see the Bradford St Peter's Parish page for links to online data content for each one.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1599.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.