To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Claydon with Mollington, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Claydon with Mollington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Claydon with Mollington, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury; Bloxham; Kington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; Separate registers exist for Mollington beginning 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605-1617; 1663; Separate records exist for Mollington beginning 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CLAYDON, a chapelry, in the parish of Cropredy, union and hundred of Banbury, county of Oxford, 6½ miles (N.) from Banbury. [1]

Claydon with Mollington is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Oxfordshire and partly in Warwickshire; Created in 1853 from Claydon chapelry (Oxfordshire) and Mollington chapelry (Oxfordshire) in Cropredy Ancient Parish. Note that the date created in Warwickshire is listed as 1851. Vision of Britain provides some additional information on this Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Claydon with Mollington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC 1 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
Claydon with Mollington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1930
1813-1965
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog BTs


OFHS 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference
[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk