Clay County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Clay County

Guide to Clay County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Clay
Organized: March 29, 1858
Parent County(s): Braxton, Nicholas[1]
Neighboring Counties
Braxton  • Calhoun  • Fayette  • Kanawha  • Nicholas  • Roane
See County Maps
Courthouse
Old Clay County, West Virginia Couthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-clay.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Henry Clay

The County was named for Henry Clay. The County has Clay as its seat and the County was created March 29, 1858. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Clay County Courthouse
207 Main Street
Clay, WV 25043
Phone: 304-354-3661
Clay County Website

County Clerk has birth, death, and marriage records from 1858.[3]

Clay County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1858 1858 1858 1858 1858 1858 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

1897-98 Records are missing for both Births and Deaths.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1858--Clay County was created 29 March 1858 from Braxton and Nicholas Counties.
  • County seat: Clay[5]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Clay County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Clay census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 1,787
1870 2,196 22.9%
1880 3,460 57.6%
1890 4,659 34.7%
1900 8,248 77.0%
1910 10,233 24.1%
1920 11,486 12.2%
1930 13,125 14.3%
1940 15,206 15.9%
1950 14,961 −1.6%
1960 11,942 −20.2%
1970 9,330 −21.9%
1980 11,265 20.7%
1990 9,983 −11.4%
2000 10,330 3.5%
2010 9,386 −9.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clay County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Calhoun CountyGilmer CountyBraxton CountyNicholas CountyFayette CountyKanawha CountyRoane CountyWV CLAY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Clay served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clay County: Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[7]

Records are available:

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County%2C_West_Virginia, accessed 2 December 2018.
  7. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Clay_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3448748"