Clay County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clay County, North Carolina)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Clay County

Guide to Clay County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Clay County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Clay County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1861
County Seat Hayesville
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaClayCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Clay Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Clay County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1913
1870
1913
1870
1870
1863

Clay County Courthouse
Hayesville, NC 28904-0118
Phone: 828-389-6301

Registrar of Deeds has birth, death and military records from 1913
marriage records from 1879 and land records from 1870[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 118
Hayesville, NC. 28904
Telephone: 828-389-0087
Fax: 828-389-9749
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
261 Courthouse Dr Suite 1
Hayesville, NC 28904
Telephone: (828) 389-2300

History

Henry Clay.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]

Parent County

1861--Clay County was created 20 February 1861 from Cherokee County.
County seat: Hayesville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1870--Fire (not courthouse) destroyed all records of the county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncclay.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Clay County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records


Regiments. Service men in Clay County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clay County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriage

Societies and Libraries

Old Buncombe County Genealogical Society
PO Box 2122
Asheville, NC 28802-2122
website
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.