Clay County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Clay County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Clay County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||December 31, 1858|
|County Seat||Green Cove Springs|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 5.15 Societies and Libraries
- 5.16 Websites
- 5.17 References
Clay County, Florida Record Dates
Clay County Courthouse
PO Box 698;
Green Cove Springs, FL 32043-0698
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, court, and land records from 1872
and divorce records from 1859; County Health Department has birth and death
rec from 1973 
Clay County was created on December 31, 1858, from a section of Duval County. Its name is in honor of Henry Clay, a famous American statesman, member of the United States Senate from Kentucky, and United States Secretary of State in the 19th century.
The county was named for Henry Clay, a famous American statesman, member of the United States Senate from Kentucky, and United States Secretary of State in the 19th century. The County Seat is Green Cove Springs and the county was created December 31, 1858.The County is located in the Northeast area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1872 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places / Localities
The following are locations in the county:
The following web sites may have additional information on Clay County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
For tips on accessing Clay County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census- USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index- USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index- USGenWeb Archives Project
- [http://files.usgwarchives.net/fl/statewide/census/1880afri.txt 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Federal Census Information from National Archives- USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives- USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service- USGenWeb Archives Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Doctors Inlet
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Clay County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
History of Clay County, FLGenWeb
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State- USGenWeb Archives Project
- Clay County Military Files (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions- Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1883 - 1883 Pension Files for St. Johns, Duval and Clay Counties (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
- Civil War Pensioners, Clay Co. FLGenWeb
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - Clay County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames A-K (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Clay County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames L-Z (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- Clay County, Florida Army Enlistees, Names Adans - Hinson (USGenWeb Archives)
- Clay County, Florida Army Enlistees, Names Holcy - Young (USGenWeb Archives)
- Clay County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clay County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Digitized Newspapers relating to Clay Co, at the FLGenWeb
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
Probate records are held by the Clay County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Clay County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records 1784-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- Florida State Archives
Societies and Libraries
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Jacksonville Florida West Family History Center (Orange Park)
- Clay County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Clay County, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Clay County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Clay County FLGenWeb Project
- Clay County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc
- Clay County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Clay County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
- Clay County, FLGenWeb, 2011.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Clay County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/clay/ accessed 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay County,_Florida, accessed 25 September 2018.