To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clarke County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clarke County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Clarke County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Clarke County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 14, 1846
County Seat Osceola
Courthouse
IowaClarkeCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for James Clarke. The County has Osceola as its seat and the County was created 1846. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[1]

Clarke County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1850 1880 1865 1849 1865 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clarke County Courthouse
100 S. Main
Osceola, IA 50213

(641) 342-3313

Clarke County

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1846--Clarke County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Lucas Kishkekosh Counties prior to organization 21 August 1851. County seat:  Osceola [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Clarke County, like its neighbor Lucas County, spanned five townships from east to west in 1846. Both counties shrank to four townships across in 1847, requiring Clarke County's eastern border to shift six miles east while its western border shifted twelve miles east

The area vacated by Clarke County, including Mt. Pisgah and its cemetery, was non-county area until it became part of Union County in 1851. 

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Decatur • Lucas • Madison • Ringgold • Union • Warren • Wayne

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps[edit | edit source]

Madison CountyWarren CountyUnion CountyRinggold CountyDecatur CountyWayne CountyLucas CountyIA CLARKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Clarke - Probate records.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Clarke County Genealogical Society
c/o Osceola Public Library
300 S. Fillmore
Osceola, Iowa 50213
Website

Clarke County Historical Society
Hwy. 69 South
Osceola, Iowa 50213
Telephone:641-342-3550, 641-342-2773, 641-342-2573
Website

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
  • For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map

Websites[edit | edit source]



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "clarke county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "clarke county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Clarke County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Clarke County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarke, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County,_Iowa.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarke County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).