Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Clarke County

Guide to Clarke County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Athens
Organized: December 5, 1801
Parent County(s): Jackson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barrow  • Jackson  • Madison  • Oconee  • Oglethorpe
See County Maps
Courthouse
Clarke County, Georgia Court House.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Clarke County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Elijah Clarke. The County is located in the northeastern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Clarke County Courthouse
325 E Washington Street, Rm 200
PO Box 1868
Athens, GA 30601
Phone: 706-613-3031
Clarke County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, land and court records from 1801 and military records from 1922.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1919.
Probate Court had marriage and probate records from 1801.[3]

Clarke County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1801 1919 1801 1801 1801 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1801 Clarke County was created 5 December 1801 from Jackson County.
  • County seat: Athens[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

In 1991 the original City of Athens abandoned its charter to form a unified government with Clarke County, referred to jointly as Athens–Clarke County. Virtually the entire county is made up of the city of Athens and the University of Georgia. Its county seat is Athens, with which it is a consolidated city-county.

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Clarke, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Clarke County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal
First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens

  • 1825-1884 First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens, Baptism Index 1825-1884. Batch C712491 at FamilySearch.
  • 1825-1884 First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens, Marriage Index 1825-1884. Batch M712491 at FamilySearch.

Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville

  • 1890-1895 Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville, Baptism Index 1890-1895. Batch C712501 at FamilySearch.
  • 1890-1895 Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville, Marriage Index 1890-1895. Batch M712501 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Index to Deed Book A 1802-1804 Georgia Pioneers ($)

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • History of Athens and Clarke County. Athens, Ga.?: H.J. Rowe, 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Hull, Augustus Longstreet. Annals of Athens, Georgia, 1801-1901. Athens, Ga.?: Banner Job Office, 1906, c1907. Digital version at Ancestry ($) or for free at Google Books

Maps and Gazetteers

Jackson CountyMadison CountyOglethorpe CountyOconee CountyBarrow CountyGA CLARKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Clarke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clarke County:

- Carlton's Company, Georgia Artillery (Troup Artillery) (Confederate)
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) Companies K and L
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company N
-37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) Company C
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I


  • Jones, Charles C., and Joseph B. Cuimming. 1993. Military operations in Georgia during the War between the States: address delivered before the Confederate Survivors Association in Augusta, Georgia upon the occasion of its fifteenth annual reunion on Memorial Day, April 26th, 1893. Conway, Arkansas: Olbuck Press. 975.8 M29j
  • Stegeman, John F. 1964. These Men She Gave: Civil War Diary of Athens, Georgia. Athens, Ga: University of Georgia Press. (page 146-158) 975.818 M25st
  • Georgia. Inferior Court (Clarke County). 1960. Bonds to support families of Confederate soldiers 1861-1869, and discharge certificates of Confederate soldiers 1864 [Clarke County, Georgia]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 214554 item 1,2,3
  • Mitchell, Albert L. 1960. Roster of companies furnished by Clarke County, Georgia, to the Confederate Army in the War between the States, 1861-1865. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. Film 219472 item 3

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Athens Historic Newspaper Archives - Digital Library of Georgia contains full-text issues of 5 historic Athens newspapers. Titles include Athenian (1827-1832), Southern Banner (1832-1882), Southern Watchman (1855-1882),Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman (1882-1889), Daily/Weekly Athens Banner (1889-1922). Search or Browse available. Viewing papers requires download of free DjVu Browser Plug-in.

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

  • 1808-1851 Clarke County Birth Index 1808-1851. Batch C531927 at FamilySearch[8]

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Athens-Clarke County Library Heritage Room
    Website
  • University of Georgia Library
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Athens Historical Society
    Website
  • Clarke-Oconee Genealogical Society
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarke County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarke County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarke County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 3 Febuary 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.