Clark County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Clark County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Clark County Courthouse
200 S 3rd Street
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1601
Clark County Website
County Clerk has probate, divorce and court records.
County Recorder has marriage and land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clark County, Nevada Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Parent County: created 5 February 1909 from Lincoln
- County seat: Las Vegas
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Nevada Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Locations not listed in Wikipedia
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1846 to 1863 - New Mexico Territory included land that later would become Arizona and southern Nevada.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory set up counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including land that became Arizona and southern Nevada. Present-day Clark County, Nevada was once part of Taos NM, and Rio Arriba NM, Santa Ana NM, Bernalillo NM, and Valencia NM counties of New Mexico.  There is a small chance that a few records from 1846 to 1863 may have been sent to courthouses in their respective New Mexico counties.
- 29 December 1863 – Arizona's three judicial districts were established by the Arizona Territory Organic Act from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were dissolved, and eventually four new counties were created in the new Arizona Territory.
- By November 1864 – Mohave County was created by the Arizona legislature as an original county from parts of the 2nd and 3rd Judicial Districts. A part of the 3rd Judicial District, Arizona eventually became Clark County, Nevada. Some records from 1863 to 1871 may have been sent to the Mohave County, Arizona offices.
- 22 December 1865 – Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona from part of Mohave County. Some records from 1865 to 1871 may have been sent to the Pah-Ute County offices. When part of Pah-Ute County was given to Nevada those records were probably transferred to either Mohave County, Arizona, or to Lincoln or Nye counties in Nevada.
- 18 January 1867 – Pah-Ute County, and Mohave County, Arizona Territory west of the Colorado River and west of 114° west longitude were given to Nevada by the U.S. Congress. This area became the southern part of Lincoln, and Nye counties, and eventually Clark County, in Nevada. In 1871, after many petitions Arizona ceased to claim this land.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site has additional information on Clark county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Nevada cemetery records by county.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories.  A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875.  See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850 United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry ($), index
- 1862-1863 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry.com ($), index
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Boulder City
- Charleston (Las Vegas)
- Las Vegas 1
- Las Vegas 2
- St. Thomas
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1869 Nevada Directory 1868-1869 at Ancestry ($), index only, includes settlers of Nevada.
- 1954, 1957, 1959 U.S. City Directories, 1822-1995 at Ancestry ($), Index and images, Las Vegas City Directories, various dates.
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Clark – LAND AND PROPERTY
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website.
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com ($), index and images.
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- Deaths Reported in the Las Vegas Age, Las Vegas, Nevada, April 7, 1905 through December 31, 1933. c1991. By Nevada Historical Society (Las Vegas). Las Vegas, Nevada : Clark County Nevada Genealogical Society. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Kawich (Goldreed), Nevada. By Alan H. Patera.
- News from Overton, Nevada and Surrounding Areas: (Logan, St. Thomas, Cappa, Kaolin and Moapa, 1905-1015). c2014. By David Lee Andersen. San Bernadino, California : David Lee Andersen. At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- 100 Years On The Muddy. c1967. By Arabell Lee Hafner. Springville, Utah : Art City Pub. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- An Index of Obituaries Published in the Las Vegas, Nevada Review-Journal and the Las Vegas, Nevada Sun, January 1, 1990-December 31, 1990. c1991. By Clark County Nevada Genealogical Society. Las Vegas, Nev : Clark County Nevada Genealogical Society. Online at Ancestry ($); At various libraries(WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Clark County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah.
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California.
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah (among others) to Omaha, Nebraska.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1863-1866 Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Casualties of World War II
- 1940-1945 - Nevada, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
For further information see Nevada Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
- GenealogyBank ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America, contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind, search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1992 Nevada County Birth and Death Records, 1871-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1975-2012 Nevada Birth Index 1975-2012 at Ancestry ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1862-1992 Nevada County Marriages, 1862-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1956-2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Black Mountain Nevada Family History Center
- Boulder City Nevada Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada East Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada FHC
- Las Vegas Nevada Large Multi-stake Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada Sandstone Family History Center
- Logandale Nevada Family History Centers
- Mesquite Nevada Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
- Clark County Heritage Center
1830 S. Boulder Highway
Henderson, NV 89002-8502
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
- Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
- Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
- Tri-State Genealogical Society
For Arizona, California, Nevada
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
- Daughters of the American Revolution:
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project for Clark County, Nevada
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Clark County Genealogy
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Clark County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/clark/ accessed 3/27/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 442-43 Clark, Lincoln, and Nye counties. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County%2C_Nevada accessed 11 March 2017.
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "1st Arizona Territorial Legislature" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1st_Arizona_Territorial_Legislature (accessed 8 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pah-Ute County, Arizona" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pah-Ute_County,_Arizona (accessed 8 August 2011).
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
- "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at https://newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/pioneer-trek (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).