Clark County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Clark County

Guide to Clark County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Kahoka
Organized: December 16, 1836
Parent County(s): Lewis[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hancock (IL)  • Knox  • Lee (IA)  • Lewis  • Scotland  • Van Buren (IA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriClarkCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Clark County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for William Clark. The County has Kahoka as its seat and the County was created December 16, 1836. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Clark County Courthouse
111 E Court Street
Kahoka, MO 63445-1268
Phone: 660-727-3283
Clark County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court, and land records from 1836.[3]

Clark County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1830 1836 1883 1836 1833 1836 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Clark County was created 16 December 1836 from Lewis County.
  • County seat: Kahoka[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Clark County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from the 1887 History of Clark County, Missouri by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Clark County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Clark County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clark County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Lewis, Clark, Knox and Scotland Counties, Missouri. 1887. St. Louis : Goodspeed. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

Clark CountyScotland CountySchuyler CountyLewis CountyKnox CountyMarion CountyAdair CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyMacon CountyShelby CountyJefferson CountyVan Buren CountyHenry CountyDes Moines CountyWarren CountyHenderson CountyLee CountyHancock CountyMcDonough CountyAdams CountySchuyler CountyBrown CountyPike CountyMOClark1.JPG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Clark County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clark County, Missouri:

- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Clark County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 202
    252 N Morgan Street
    Kahoka, MO 63445
    Phone: 660-727-1072

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clark, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/06/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.