Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clark County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Clark County

Guide to Clark County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Winchester
Organized: December 6, 1792
Parent County(s): Bourbon, Fayette[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bourbon  • Estill  • Fayette  • Madison  • Montgomery  • Powell
See County Maps
Courthouse
Clark County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Clark County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today
Kentucky Horse Park

County Information

Description

The County was named for George Rogers Clark. The County has Winchester as its seat and the County was created 1792. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Clark County Courthouse
34 S Main Street Rm 103
Winchester, KY 40391-2600
Phone: 859.745.0282[3]
Clark County Website

Clark County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1793 1852 1793 1793 1793 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1792--Clark County was created 6 December 1792 from Bourbon and Fayette Counties.
  • County seat: Winchester[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Clark, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Clark county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 7,653
1810 11,519 50.5%
1820 11,449 −0.6%
1830 13,051 14.0%
1840 10,802 −17.2%
1850 12,683 17.4%
1860 11,484 −9.5%
1870 10,882 −5.2%
1880 12,115 11.3%
1890 15,434 27.4%
1900 16,694 8.2%
1910 17,987 7.7%
1920 17,901 −0.5%
1930 17,640 −1.5%
1940 17,988 2.0%
1950 18,898 5.1%
1960 21,075 11.5%
1970 24,090 14.3%
1980 28,322 17.6%
1990 29,496 4.1%
2000 33,144 12.4%
2010 35,613 7.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Hall] Hayden, Richard A. "Early Hall Family Pioneers of Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):163-174. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
  • [Hickman] Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latane, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1891. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archives. 1911 edition: FHL Film 1321070 Item 1; 1985 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 J71jL 1985.
  • [Hickman] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Hickman] Fay, Mary Smith. "The Three James Hickmans: Identifying Revolutionary War Veterans," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):52-54. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Jones] Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latane, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1891. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archives. 1911 edition: FHL Film 1321070 Item 1; 1985 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 J71jL 1985.
  • [Lampton] Keith, Clayton. Sketch of the Lampton Family in America, 1740-1914. Louisiana, Mo.: C. Keith, 1914. FHL US/CAN Film 1321273 Item 10; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Price] American Ancestry: Giving the Name and Descent, in the Male Line, of Americans Whose Ancestors Settled in the United States Previous to the Declaration of Independence, A.D. 1776. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1898. Vol. 9:128-129. Digital version at Google Books - free.
  • [Price] Price, Benjamin Luther. John Price the Emigrant, Jamestown Colony 1620, With Some of His Descendants. Alexandria, La.: B.J. Price, 1910; digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Quisenberry] Quisenberry, Anderson Chenault. Memorials of the Quisenberry Family in Germany, England and America. Washington, D.C.: Gilson Bros., Printers, 1900. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Stafford] Stafford, Carolyn Joy. The Biography of Thomas Moore Stafford, 1841-1910 of City of Louisville, Clark, and Nicholas Counties, Kentucky and Citrus and Lee Counties, Florida: Saddler, Soldier, Settler. Brandon, Fla.: C.J. Stafford, 2007. FHL Book 921.73 St13s; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • [Watts] Heinemann, Charles Brunk. John Watts Family of Clark County, Kentucky: (Watts Family No. 2). 1934?. FHL Book 929.273 W349he.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Fayette CountyBourbon CountyMontgomery CountyEstill CountyPowell CountyMadison CountyKY CLARK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Clark County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

Confederate

- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Woodward's) - CSA - Company A.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate) - CSA - Company C.

Union

- 22nd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Enrolled Militia), Companies A, B, C, F, and G
- 39th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry, Company A, B, C, D, F, G, I, and K
- 45th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry, Company K
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry, Company E

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Clark County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Clark County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Clark County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clark_County,_Kentucky, accessed 8 August 2018.
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Clark_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3453393"