Clarendon County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Clarendon County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Clarendon County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 Description
- 2 County Information
- 3 Clarendon County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 4 County Courthouse
- 5 History
- 6 Places/Localities
- 7 Resources
- 7.1 Research Guides
- 7.2 African Americans
- 7.3 Cemeteries
- 7.4 Census
- 7.5 Church
- 7.6 Court
- 7.7 DNA
- 7.8 Genealogy
- 7.9 Land
- 7.10 Local Histories
- 7.11 Maps
- 7.12 Military
- 7.13 Newspapers
- 7.14 Periodicals
- 7.15 Probate
- 7.16 Taxation
- 7.17 Vital Records
- 8 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 9 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 10 Family History Centers
- 11 Websites
- 12 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Edward Hyde, who was a Lord Proprietor and earl of Clarendon. The County is located in the central area of the state.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Clarendon County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Clarendon County Courthouse
3 West Keitt Street
Manning, SC 29102
Clarendon County Probate Court
P.O. Box 307
Manning, SC 29102
Marriage and probate records
Clarendon County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 136
Manning, SC 29102
Court and land records
Office does not provide research of any kind.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County/Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 1785 - Thirty-three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Clarendon was created within Camden District.
- 1792 - Salem created from Clarendon and Claremont Counties.
- 1800 - Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem Counties combined to form Sumter District. Clarendon did not exist again until 1855.
- 1855 - Clarendon District created from Sumter District, pending.
- 1857 - Clarendon confirmed. Clarendon gained from Sumter.
- 1868 - Clarendon and all other districts became counties.
- 1888 - Florence created from Clarendon, Darlington, Marion, and Williamsburg Counties.
- 1914 - Williamsburg gained from Clarendon.
- 1921 - Sumter gained from Clarendon.
- 1922 - Clarendon gained from Sumter.
For more information as well as maps of Clarendon County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
County Seat[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
- Although records were removed before General Edward H. Potter's Union cavalry destroyed Manning in April 1865, Clarendon's loose probate papers were destroyed later, at an undetermined date; they begin in 1875.
- Sumter suffered a major loss of probate records and deeds, on 27 November 1801, when fire destroyed the residence of Sumter District Clerk of Court John Horan, in Stateburg. This fire also consumed the records of Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem counties.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Clarendon County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- Free Negro Tax Defaulters List, 1800-1801, Carolina Herald and Newsletter, Vol. 34, No. 3 (Jul. 2006).
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Big Home
- Black River
- Cedar Grove
- Hickory Hill
- Ox Swamp
- Sycamore Grove
- Taw Caw - Summerton
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|Tombstone Project||FamilySearch Places|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Clarendon County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1860[edit | edit source]
- Teel, Dorothy Owens. 1860 Census, Clarendon District, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1983. FHL Collection 975.781 X2t 1860
1870[edit | edit source]
- Thomas, Irene Miles. Clarendon County, SC 1870 Federal Census Extract. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 2004. FHL Collection 975.781 X2ti 1870
1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880. This resource lists the name of farmer, size of ranch or farm, value of property, crop, livestock, and more. Agricultural rolls are not indexed and are available at South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
Mortality Census Schedules Available from June 1 to May 31 for the following years: 1859, 1869, 1879. Information is provided for people who died during the year before the 1st of June of each census year. Informatin included: names, age, sex, occupation, birth place. The Mortality Census Schedules are available at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History and the National Archives.
The 1850 and 1860 Slaveholder Census lists the names of the slaveholders and the number, age, and sex of slaves. It does not list the names of slaves.
Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Service
Taken in 1840. A list of pension holders. Not complete and contains some errors.
Civil War Union Veterans
Taken in a speial census in 1890. Some Confederate veterans are included. Listed by county on one roll of microfilm. Gives veteran's name and widow's name, rank, company, regiment, and more.
1875 State Census
Other state censuses exist for South Carolina. The 1875 SC State Census is complete for Clarendon County. Available at South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
Church [edit | edit source]
Most church records can be obtained by contacting the individual church.
If you know your ancestor's church, look for information in the following resources:
R. N. Cote, Local And Family History in SC, Southern Historical Press, Easley, SC, 1981, pp. 15-47, 381-419.
A. H. Stokes, Jr. A Guide to the Manuscript Collection of South Caroliniana Library, University of SC, Columbia, SC, 1982.
J. H. Moore, Research Materials in SC, University of SC Press, Columbia, SC 1967, pp. 18, 21-28, 32, 36-37, 45-46, 55-61, 66-138, 148, 154, 174.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders| Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- Clarendon County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Clarendon County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Cobia - Selleneit, Minnie Lee Cobia. My Life Story. 1977. FHL Book 921.73 Se48sm; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Graham - Graham, Ernest and Frances Oralee Jones Graham. The Rembert Ernest Graham Family Book of Remembrance, ca. 1570-1962. MSS. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Film 1321307 Item 2.
- Humphrey - Marshall, Vera Lee Kearl. Proud to Remember: Genealogy and History of Four Ancestral Lines of Lula Barzilla Humphrey Kearl: Paternal -- Humphrey-Thames; Maternal -- Brunson-Marshall; Contains All the Data Procurable on the Generations from the First Known to the Present; Some Data on the Kirk and Gerald Families; Statements of Unsolved Problems and Questions. Provo, Utah: Brigham Young University Press, 1964. FHL Book 929.273 K211m.
- Nelson - Huggins, George Allen. The Nelson Family of Clarendon County, South Carolina. Typescript. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 43
- Richardson - Esker, Katie-Prince W. Billups and Allied Families. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 B497e.
- Sheriff - Sheriff, Pauline Callaway. Faith of the Prairies: A Sheriff - Burt - Spriggs History. Hollis, Okla.: P.C. Sheriff, 1977. FHL Book 929.273 Sh57sp.
- Williams - Womack, Andrina S. David Williams of Saint Marks Parish, South Carolina. Charlotte, N.C.: Catawba, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 W671wa.
- Williams - Womack, Andrina S. David Williams of Saint Marks Parish, South Carolina. 2 vols. n.p.: A.S. Womack, 2009. FHL Book 929.273 W671wa 2009 v. 1-v. 2.
Land[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property. Note that old Clarendon County was formed in 1785. Salem and Sumter Counties were formed from "old" Clarendon County. "New" Clarendon County was revitalized in 1855.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Clarendon County:
|1868-present||Clarendon County (new)|
|1800-1801||Sumter District Records Lost*|
|1792-1800||Salem County Records Lost*|
|1785-1800||Claredon County (old) Records Lost*|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
*Sumter District records destroyed by fire 27 Nov 1801
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Clark, Sylvia H. Shadows of the Past : an Illustrated History of Clarendon County SC. (Virginia Beach, Virginia : Donning Company Publishers, c2005), 203 pages. History of Clerendon from about 1855 to 1960 & beyond. Book at FHL 975.781 H2c and Other Libraries
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Clarendon County, p. 183-184. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Clarendon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Clarendon County or from many of its men:
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company B - (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion),
- - Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery)
- - Company G (also known as the DeSaussure Light Artillery and the DePass Light Battery)
- - Company K (also known as Richardson's Company)
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company D, Company F, and Company I
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company D
- - 5th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Brown's), Company F
- - 6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's), Company B
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company E
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company G, Company I, and Company K
- - 8th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves
- - 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D and Company I
- - 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- Clarendon County Military Data (scroll down page) - USGenWeb Project -Shows links for the history and rosters of the following units:
- - Company I- 25th Regiment South Carolina Volunteers
- - Company I- 23rd Regiment South Carolina Volunteers
- - Company H- 5th Cavalry South Carolina Volunteers
- - Company K- 6th Infantry South Carolina Volunteers
- Clark, Sylvia H. Shadows of the Past: an Illustrated History of Clarendon County SC. (Virginia Beach, Virginia: Donning Company Publishers, c2005), 203 pages. History of Clerendon from about 1855 to 1960 & beyond. Chapter 4, page 45 has Civil War information. Book at FHL 975.781 H2c and Other Libraries
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Clarendon County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Clarendon Banner (Manning, S.C.) 1859-18??.
- The Banner of Freedom (Sumter, S.C.) 18??-18??.
- The Clarendon Enterprise (Manning, S.C.) 1881-1895.
- The Clarendon Chronicle (Manning, S.C.) 1973-1983.
- The Clarendon Press (Manning, S.C.) 1867-1880.
- The Clarendon Recorder (Manning, S.C.) 1865-1866.
- The Herald (Manning, S.C.) 1913-1919.
- The Manning Times (Manning, Clarendon County, S.C.) 1884-current.
- The Summerton Advance (Summerton, S.C.) 1906-1907.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Claredon County Estate Records, ca. 1899-1926. Microreproduction of original estate packages at the South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, Columbia, South Carolina FHL Film 2313270
'Online Probate Indexes and Records'
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Claredon County.
See also African Americans
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Clarendon County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
- Biographical records
- Cemetery records
- Church records
- Wills and probate records
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Clarendon County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009. The Clarendon County, South Carolina Archives also has marriages from 1911 to 1950 on microfilm as well as the only known index to those marriage records.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1862-1878 - Newspaper Abstracts from the Southern Christian Advocate by Sumter County, SC USGenWeb page - abstracts - INCLUDES Clarendon County
- 1911-1950 - Clarendon County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950  FHL Collection - records only
- Church records
- Court records
- Land records
- Wills and probate records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Clarendon County, South Carolina Archives also has a death index for South Carolina from 1915-1957. The Clarendon County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1862-1878 - Newspaper Abstracts from the Southern Christian Advocate by Sumter County, SC USGenWeb page - abstracts, INCLUDES Clarendon County
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- Bible records
- Cemetery records
- Church records
- Pension records
- Wills and probate records
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Some separations were recorded during Reconstruction 1869-1870.
Divorce records began to be officially recorded April 1949 with the Clerk of Court in the county the divorce was made official. Divorces occuring after July 1962 were filed with the state and are available from the Office of Vital Records.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Clarendon County Archives and History Center
211 N. Brooks Street
Manning, SC 29102
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers in South Carolina
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Clarendon County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Clarendon County, SCGenWeb Home Page: Excellent resources for Clarendon County!
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Clarendon County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clarendon County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarendon_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 25/06/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarendon County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 13.
- "Clarendon County, South Carolina".
- "Clarendon County, South Carolina."
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clarendon County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarendon_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 22 December 2019.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- South Carolina, Probate Court (Clarendon County), Clarendon County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.