Clarborough, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Clarborough, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Clarborough St John the Baptist Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1567|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
CLAREBOROUGH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2½ miles (N. E. by E.) from East Retford with the hamlets of Bollom, Gringley, Little Gringley, Moorgate, and Walham.
Clarborough St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish which included Bolham, Bollam, Bollam and Moorgate, Welham, Walham, Gringley, Little Gringley, Little Gingley, Bollom, Gingley, and Moorgate.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Clarborough St John the Baptist
The church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Clarborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ClarboroughE Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.