Clapham St John, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Surrey
Surrey Parishes
Clapham St John


Guide to Clapham St John, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clapham St John, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Wandsworth and Clapham
Registration District Wandsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Winchester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History


Clapham St+John+the+Evangelist Surrey.JPG


Clapham, par. with ry. sta., mid. Surrey, forming SW. suburb of London, 1137 ac., pop. 36,380.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.




Poor Law Unions

Wandsworth and Clapham Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.