Clandown, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Clandown, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Somerset, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Clutton|
|Parish registers: 1841|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLAPTON (or CLANDOWN), a tything, in the parish of Midsomer Norton, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chewton, E.division of Somerset, 6¾ miles (N. by E.) from Shepton Mallet.
CLAPTON, a tything and a chapelry in Midsomer-Norton parish, Somerset. The tything lies near the Radford canal, 7½ miles NNE of Shepton-Mallet town and r. station. Pop., 173. Houses, 27. The chapelry includes the tything, but is much more extensive; bears also the name of Clandown, and was constituted in 1849. Post town, Midsomer-Norton, under Bath.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Clandown, Somerset Genealogy chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|CLANDOWN CHAPELRY Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.