Clackamas County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Clackamas County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Clackamas County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||July 5, 1843|
|County Seat||Oregon City|
|Address||Clackamas County Courthouse|
719 Main Street
Oregon City, OR 97045
Clackamas County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Places / Localities
- 3 Resources
- 3.1 Cemeteries
- 3.2 Census
- 3.3 Church History and Records
- 3.4 Court Records
- 3.5 Gazetteers
- 3.6 History
- 3.7 Land and Property
- 3.8 Maps
- 3.9 Migration
- 3.10 Military History and Records
- 3.11 Newspapers
- 3.12 Probate Records
- 3.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 3.14 Taxation
- 3.15 Vital Records
- 4 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Native Americans living in the area, the Clackamas Indians, who were part of the Chinookan people. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. 
Clackamas County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage and land records 1846.
State Archivist has custody of some old county records.
Records held at the Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Clackamas County Court House as of September/October 2006.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
11 January 1854: Wasco County set off.
22 December 1854: Multhomah County set off.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Clackamas County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Historic Oregon Newspapers as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.
Of particular interest to Clackamas researchers:
Clackamas County Record (Oregon City)
Oregon City Courier (Oregon City)
oregon courier (Oregon City)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1922 - Clackamas County Oregon list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - free
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:
Clackamas County Coroner's Inquest 1859-1883, Certificates of Death 1921-1944
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Clackamas County Family History Society
PO Box 995
Oregon City 97045
Clackamas County Historical Society and Museum
211 Tumwater Drive
Oregon City, OR 97045
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Lake Oswego Oregon Family History Center1271 Overlook Dr Lake Oswego OR 97034 United States Location Map
- Milwaukie Oregon Family History Center (Gladstone) 8331 Cason Rd Gladstone, OR 97027-1416 United States Location Map
- Molalla Oregon Family History Center13250 S Hwy 211 Molalla OR 97038-9253 United States Location Map
- Mount Hood Oregon Family History Center(Boring) 12300 SE 312th Ave 12300 Boring OR 97009 United States Location Map
- Oregon City Oregon Family History Center14340 Donovan Rd Oregon City OR 97045 United States Location Map
- Wilsonville Oregon Family History Center29350 SW Town Center Loop E Wilsonville, OR 97070-9465 United States Location Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Clackamas County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Clackamas County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Clackamas County
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clackamas, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clackamas_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clackamas County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clackamas County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Clackamas County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clackamas_County,_Oregon, accessed 13 September 2018.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).