Ciudad de Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala Genealogy

Guatemala

Guatemala Department

Municipality of Ciudad de Guatemala

Guide to Municipality of Ciudad de Guatemala ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History

• The ancient Mayan city of Kaminaljuyú is located within the confines of modern Guatemala City.
• After the "Santa Marta" earthquakes of 1773, to avoid another event of the same magnitude, the Spanish authorities decided that the city of Guatemala had to change its place.
• The city was officially founded on January 2, 1776.
• The municipality of Guatemala City has a population of approximately 2,110,000 people

Civil Registration

• Registros civiles, 1878-1890 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1877-1926 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1923-1937 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala, registro civil (parte 1), 1870-2016 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1895-1912 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1878-1935 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1877-1934 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.

Parish Records

• Informaciones matrimoniales, 1649-1817 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1631-1920 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1636-1937 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1641-1934 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1647-1977 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1694-1915 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1897-1930 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros parroquiales, 1916-1946 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.

Census Records

• Padrones y tributos, 1700-1825 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Padrones, 1698-1836 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Catastro y censo general de la Ciudad de Guatemala, 1877 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Guatemala, Ciudad de Guatemala, census = Guatemala, Ciudad de Guatemala, censo, 1877 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Padrones de Guatemala : Ciudad de Guatemala: 1668-1887 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.

Cemeteries

• El Cementerio General de la Ciudad de Guatemala
  Dirección: 20 Calle 4 Avenida 20-00, Zona 3
• Camposanto Los Cipreses
  Dirección: 42 Avenida Final y 6 Calle Zona 5
• Cementerio Privado Las Buganvilias
  Dirección: 4 Calle Final 27-00 Zona 6
• Camposanto Jardines De La Asunción
  Dirección: Avenida Reforma 7-62 Zona 9
• Cementerio Las Flores
  Dirección: 6 Avenida 8-20 Zona 9
• Cementerio de la Villa Guadelupe
• Cementerio Sajcavilla
• Cementerio El Pajon
• Cementerio Cristo Rey

Localities

Canalitos Cebadilla Grande Concepción Las Lomas El Bebedero El Chato

El Rodeo La Libertad (antes Hincapié) Las Canoítas Las Tapias Lavarreda

Lo de Contreras Lo de Rodríguez Los Guajitos Los Ocotes Santa Rosita