Citrus County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Citrus County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Citrus County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||June 2, 1887|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Newspapers
- 5.10 Probate
- 5.11 Taxation
- 5.12 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Citrus County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Citrus County Courthouse
111 W Main Street
Iverness, FL 34450
Office of Historical Resources has marriage records 1887-1945, Cemetery, probate, land and court records from 1887 and military
discharge records 1919-1969; County Health Department has birth and death records
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1887--Citrus County created 2 June 1887 from the northern most part of Hernando County. The original county seat was Mannfield and it was not ever intended to be the permanent county seat. About 16 months later, the citizens decided to make the town of Inverness the county seat as it was centrally located within the county. Ironically, the Mannfield Town clerk suddenly moved the records in the middle of the night a few days before the scheduled move was to take place.
Currently all that is left of Mannfield is the rubble of a few house foundations and a small cemetery.
County seat: Inverness 
Description[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Former towns[edit | edit source]
- Mannfield (original county seat, now a ghost town)
- Stage Pond (Cemetery still remains)
- Fairmount (town site is now Meadowcrest Industrial Park)
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Citrus County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Citrus County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Citrus County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- Family Maps of Citrus County, Florida (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1918 - Citrus County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration (A-J) (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1918 - Citrus County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration (K-Z) (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Citrus County Army Enlistees, Names ADAMS - MAYNARD (USGenWeb Archives)
- Citrus County Army Enlistees, Names MC CLAIN - YON (USGenWeb Archives)
- Citrus County World War II Honor Roll of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Citrus County Korean War Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Citrus County Vietnam War Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Citrus County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Citrus County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Citrus County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records 1784-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1887-1917 - Citrus County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1887-1917. Batch M736771 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1917-1939 - Citrus County Marriage Books 3 and 4 Index 1917-1939. Batch M736768 at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Citrus County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Citrus County FLGenWeb Project; a member of The FLGenWeb Project, an affiliate of USGenWeb
- Citrus County, USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Citrus County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Citrus County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- Citrus County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Citrus County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Citrus County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Citrus County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Citrus County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/citrus/ accessed 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Citrus County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citrus_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Citrus County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citrus_County,_Florida, accessed 24 September 2018.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.