To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Citizen Potawatomi Nation, Oklahoma

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Citizen Potawatomi Nation, Oklahoma

Guide to Citizen Potawatomi ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Potawatomi, Chief Shabbona.jpg


Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Citizen Potawatomi Nation
1601 S. Gordon Cooper Drive
Shawnee, OK 74801
Phone: 1.405.275.3121
Fax: 1.405.275.0198

Website: www.potawatomi.org

History[edit | edit source]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional References to the History of the Tribe and/or Band[edit | edit source]

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.

Population: 1984: Enrollment 11,088 [1]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Tribally owned land: 261.34 acres. Allotted land: 3,769.46 acres [2]

Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 220
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 219