To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ciliau Aeron, Ceredigion, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ciliau-Aeron, Cardiganshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A guide to genealogy in Ciliau Aeron, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Ciliau Aeron is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish on the Afon Aeron, near Aberaeron in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History[edit | edit source]

CILIAU-AËRON, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 10 1/2 Miles (N. W.) from Lampeter. This parish is situated on the river Aëron by which it is bounded on the north-east, and from which it derives the adjunct to its name. The church. dedicated to St. Michael, is a small edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians.[1]

For more information see Genuki - Ciliau Aeron

Administration[edit | edit source]

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 241-248. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.