Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nevada
Churchill County


Guide to Churchill County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

The county was named Nevada which is a Spanish word meaning snow-capped. It's county seat is Carson City and was founded March 2, 1861.[1] It is located in the North-western area of the state.[2] Churchill County was named for Fort Churchill (which today is actually in Lyon County), which had been named for General Sylvester Churchill, a Mexican-American War hero who was Inspector General of the U.S. Army in 1861. Churchill County was not organized until 1864, and its county seats were Bucklands (1861-64) which is now in Lyon County, La Plata (1864-68), Stillwater (1868-1904) and Fallon (1904-present). In the nineteenth century there were several attempts to eliminate Churchill County because of its small population, but Assemblyman Lemuel Allen was able to stop it on all occasions including convincing the Governor to veto the bill after it had been passed by both houses in 1875.

County Courthouse

Churchill County Courthouse
Churchill County Administrative Complex
155 N. Taylor Street
Fallon, NV 89406
Phone: 775.423.6028
Churchill County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1905. [3]

Churchill County, Nevada Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1888 1905 1885 1905 1864 1905 1850
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities



{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fallon
Organized: November 25, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[7]
Neighboring Counties
Elko  • Eureka  • Humboldt  • Nye  • Pershing
See County Maps
Courthouse
Nv-churchill-ch.png
Location Map
Nv-churchill.png
Adoption


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Churchill County records FHL

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Churchill County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Churchill county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 196
1880 479 144.4%
1890 703 46.8%
1900 830 18.1%
1910 2,811 238.7%
1920 4,649 65.4%
1930 5,075 9.2%
1940 5,317 4.8%
1950 6,161 15.9%
1960 8,452 37.2%
1970 10,513 24.4%
1980 13,917 32.4%
1990 17,938 28.9%
2000 23,982 33.7%
2010 24,877 3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [8] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [9] See links listed below.

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada.[10] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Fallon

Episcopal

  • Episcopal Church
    507 Churchill Street
    Fallon, Nevada 89406
    775–423–3551
  • Churchill County records FHL
    Membership rolls 1906 and 1943
    Baptisms, confirmations, communicants 1907-1933
    marriages 1913-1940
    burials 1917-1957

Court Records

Directories

Online Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

  • Churchill County records FHL

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Churchill – LAND AND PROPERTY

Online Land Records


For more information see Nevada Land and Property

Local Histories

County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.

  • Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900 : a researchers guide. c2002. By Barbara L. Hodges and Barbara A. Pargament. Fallon, Nevada : Barbara's Place for Genealogy. At various libraries(WorldCat).
  • The Humboldt Range: 19th Century Mining Camps. c1995. By Alan H. Patera. Nd. N.p: n.p. At various libraries(WorldCat).
  • Trails to Churchill County: Historical and Genealogical Society Quarterly. c1983-. By Churchill County Historical and Genealogical Society (Nevada). Fallon, Nevada : Churchill County Historical and Genealogical Society. At various libraries(WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Pershing CountyLander CountyNye CountyMineral CountyStorey CountyLyon CountyWashoe CountyNV CHURCHILL.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[11]

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.


  • Churchill County records FHL
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

  • In focus: annual journal of the Churchill County Museum Association FHL
  • Trails to Churchill County: Historical and Genealogical Society quarterly FHL

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Churchill County Library
553 S Maine St
Fallon, NV 89406
Telephone:775-423-7581

Museums

Churchill County Museum and Archives
1050 South Maine Street
Fallon, NV
Website

Societies

Churchill Historical and Genealogical Society
c/o Churchill County Museum
1050 S Maine St
Fallon, NV 89406-8824
Telephone: 775-423-3677
Fax:775-423-3662
E-mail:ccmuseum@phonewave.net
Website

Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Website

Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Website

Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone: 775-688-1190
Website

Tri-State Genealogical Society
ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, NEVADA
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
Website

Websites

Research Guides

  • Some Churchill County, Nevada, Records, 1850-1900: A Researchers guide FHL

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/ accessed 3/27/2017.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Churchill County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Churchill County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Churchill County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Churchill County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill_County%2C_Nevada accessed 10 March 2017.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  10. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
  11. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  12. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).