To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Church Minshull, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Church Minshull, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church Minshull, Cheshire
Church Minshull village from the Shropshire Union Middlewich Branch Canal.jpg
Church Minshull village from the Shropshire Union Middlewich Branch Canal
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Church Minshull St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire including Paradise Green, Wood Green, and Wades Green.

St Bartholomew's Church, Church Minshull is in the village of Church Minshull, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with those of St Mary,  Acton, Cheshire, St David,  Wettenhall, Cheshire, and St Oswald, Worleston.

Church Minshull is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village is located approximately 5 miles (8.0 km) north west of Crewe and to the west of the River Weaver and the Shropshire Union Canal.

MINSHULL, CHURCH (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Nantwich. The parish is situated on the river Weaver. Cheese is made in great quantities. There is a place of worship forIndependents.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Church Minshull parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Church Minshull Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central ( post1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Church Minshull on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England 1963. Date Accessed: 19 February 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 132–136
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 179, ISBN 0 300 09588 0