Chubbuck, Bannock County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Chubbuck, Bannock County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 Quick Facts
- 2 City Hall
- 3 Resources
- 4 References
Chubbuck City Hall
5160 Yellowstone Avenue
Chubbuck, ID 83202
Church History and Records
Pioneer Bible Baptist Church
369 Adams Street, Chubbuck, ID 83202-2105
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
There are 3 LDS meetinghouses in Chubbock.
Roman Catholic Churches
St. Paul's Catholic Church
820 West Chubbuck Road, Chubbuck, ID 83202
Gate City Christian Church
202 W, Siphon Rd.
Chubbuck, ID 83202
The Idaho State Archives in its collections copies of city, county, state and regional directories.
Wilks Funeral Home
211 W Chubbuck Rd
Chubbuck, Idaho 83202
Bannock and Shoshone Indians had long since made the area their home, but it was not until the 1800’s when trappers and hunters came to trade with the Indians. In 1832 Captain Benjamin Bonneville visited the area to hunt. Nathaniel J Wyeth establishes the Fort Hall Trading Post.
The original land was acquired in a land rush when the Indian Lands were opened to homesteading. Mr. Abe Pierce homesteaded one hundreds and sixty acres on the north side of Chubbuck Road. Mr. Lindquist acquired the rest.
A railroad conductor named Earl Chubbuck, who lived in Blackfoot, was in charge of loading railroad cars with agricultural produce from the area. All produce in the area was loaded on to the trains at the Chubbuck Siding. The run became know as the Chubbuck Beet Run. It was later changed or shortened to Chubbuck.
The Idaho State Archives has no copies of newspapers published in Chubbuck. Some of the newspapers of nearby towns that are in the Archives, may be of interest to residents of Chubbuck.