Christchurch, Hampshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Bournemouth and Christchurch|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
The town now known as Christchurch has existed since 650 and was was originally known as Twynham, from "tweon eam", meaning (the settlement) between two rivers. It was not until the construction of the priory in 1094 that the town became known as Christchurch.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHRISTCHURCH (Holy Trinity), a borough, sea-port, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Christchurch, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 21½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Southampton, and 100 (S. W. by W.) from London..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|CHRISTCHURCH PARISH Online Records|
|BIVRI||1584-1590, 1635-1643, 1682-1838||1634-1642, 1682-1762|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy from Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Kiff, Cathryn A. W. My Father's Family - 140 Years in Christchurch. Photos and family names and history of William Ford Tilley and Sarah Elizabeth Alford, and their descendants. Photo of 23 Douglas Avenue home, also of Kings Ave, 1940 with Ted's delivery van, with his brother Cecil and Brian Wright's small boy between them. Other names, Wright, Mabey, Lane, Brown Rayner, Sandell, Craig, D'Angibau, Lawrence, Evans, Jenkins, Lane. Article in The Hamshire Family Historian, vol. 30 no.3, pages 173-177, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 18 June 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 24 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 28 January 2021.