To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Christchurch, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Christchurch, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Christchurch, Hampshire
Christchurch Priory, Dorset.jpg
Christchurch Priory
Type Ancient parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Christchurch
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Bournemouth and Christchurch
Registration District Christchurch
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christchurch
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester

The town now known as Christchurch has existed since 650 and was was originally known as Twynham, from "tweon eam", meaning (the settlement) between two rivers. It was not until the construction of the priory in 1094 that the town became known as Christchurch.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHRISTCHURCH (Holy Trinity), a borough, sea-port, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Christchurch, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 21½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Southampton, and 100 (S. W. by W.) from London.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Christchurch Priory Hampshire.png

Church records[edit | edit source]

Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Hampshire Parish Registers, 1538-1980 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Hampshire Bishop's Transcripts 1680-1892 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Hampshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
ANC = Hampshire, England, Allegations for Marriage Licences, 1689-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Christchurch Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1980
1538-1980
1538-1980
FS BTs 1680-1892
1680-1892
1680-1892
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FMP 1752-1851
1754-1837
1400-1850
TGEN 1537-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
ANC

1689-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Hampshire Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy from Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Kiff, Cathryn A. W. My Father's Family - 140 Years in Christchurch.  Photos and family names and history of William Ford Tilley and Sarah Elizabeth Alford, and their descendants.  Photo of 23 Douglas Avenue home, also of Kings Ave, 1940 with Ted's delivery van, with his brother Cecil and Brian Wright's small boy between them.  Other names, Wright, Mabey, Lane, Brown Rayner, Sandell, Craig, D'Angibau, Lawrence, Evans, Jenkins, Lane.  Article in The Hamshire Family Historian, vol. 30 no.3, pages 173-177, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 18 June 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Hampshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk