Christ Church Parish, Middlesex Genealogy, Virginia

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Christchurchmiddlesex.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

Christ Church Parish has served Lancaster and Middlesex counties. Not to be confused with Christ Church Parish (Lancaster Co.).

Founded[edit | edit source]

Boundary[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Christ Church Cemetery, Saluda, Va. database at Find A Grave. (550+ entries)

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of Christ Church Parish is available online.[2]

  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Christ Church Parish, Middlesex County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Ser., Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan. 1939):8-24. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL. [Includes Middlesex County.]

Rev. John Moncure's history of Christ Church, Middlesex County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

The original parish registers are kept at ????. They have been abstracted several times:

  • The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Virginia. The Parish Register of Christ Church, Middlesex County, Va. from 1653 to 1812. Richmond, Va.: Wm. Ellis Jones, Steam Book and Job Printer, 1897. Digital version at Internet Archive.

This book has also been converted into databases at FamilySearch - free:

  1. Christ Church Parish Christenings 1653-1808. Batch C504721
  2. Christ Church Parish Marriages 1660-1819. Batch M504721

This book has also been converted into databases at Ancestry ($):

  1. Christ Church Parish, Virginia Births, 1653-1812
  2. Christ Church Parish, Virginia Marriages, 1653-1812
  3. Christ Church Parish, Virginia Deaths, 1653-1812
  4. Christ Church Parish, Virginia Records, 1653-1812

O'Brien attempts to identify Irish surnames in this parish's register:

  • O'Brien, Michael J. "Virginia, Middlesex County. - Extracts from the Parish Register of Christ Church," The Journal of the American Irish Historical Society, Vol. 12 (1913):149-155. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books.
Vestry Books[edit | edit source]
  • Chamberlayne, C.G. The Vestry Book of Christ Church Parish, Middlesex County, Virginia, 1663-1767. Richmond, Va.: Old Dominion Press, 1927. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 246-257.