Christ Church Parish, Barbados

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Barbados Wiki Topics
Flag of Barbados.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Barbados Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Barbados
Christ Church Parish

Guide to Christ Church Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Parish of Christ Church
Barbados ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Early History

The earliest parish registers for Christ Church, Barbados begin with the first baptism record in March of 1637 with Arthur Spencer.

The first marriages in this parish  start six years later in April of 1643 with surnames such as Addison, Archer, Bevis, Bottom, Chandler, Chapell, Clay, Cropps, Delawar, Dill, Disborough, Doggett, Engleton, Gardner, Harrison, Jackson, Jockey, Johnson, Jones, Large, Lewis, Morgan, Noland, Page, Reed, Richardson, Robinson, Rouse, Sears, Shepherd, Tiler, Towne, Trugburro, Wall, Warden, Watkins, Wild, Wingod, and Wilson.

These were quickly followed by other well known names from that period, that continue to this day, with the likes of Adams, Adington, Amey, Andrews, Arnoby, Atkinson, Ball, Bambrooke, Barber, Barker, Barley, Barnes, Barnett, Barton, Bashford, Bates, Baxter, Beacham, Bedford, Bennett, Bignall, Bilclift, Bilkinson, Bishop, Bloden, Blundell, Bolen, Boulton, Bowen, Bowmar, Bradshaw, Brandling, Bray, Brensack, Brigstock, Brookes, Brothers, Browne, Brownerton, Bruton, Bryan, Bun., Burrowes, Butler, Cahaun, Carter, Catling, Chamberlain, Chaplan, Clarke, Clarke, Cobb, Cocknel, Colihan, Collicut, Collins, Collinsworth, Collymore, Cooke, Cooke, Cooke, Cooper, Corner, Cottle, Cox, Curtis, Cutler, Dalburn, Daniel, Davis, Daw, Daws, Deacon, Does, Dollar, Downes, Durman, Dutton, Ellswick, England, Evans, Farnum, Fee, Felton, Fennel, Fenton, Fido, Floyd, Ford, Frame, Freeman, Ganford, Gardner, Garland, Gates, German, Gilman, Goff, Gold, Goodridge, Gosling, Grafton, Grasely, Greaves, Green, Grey, Griffin, Griffith, Halls, Hanbridge, Hannah, Hard, Harding, Hargrave, Harlott, Harlow, Harper, Harris, Harrison, Haws, Heath, Herbert, Herring, Hewitt, Hicks, Hill, Hilton, Hobbs, Hodyam, Holland, Holman, Hootton, Hoskins, Howe, Howell, Howen, Hutchins, Hutton, Hutton, Jackson, James, Jenkins, Jerome, Jinck, Johnson, Jones, Jorman, Kemp, Kingsland, Kirkhamas, Kirton, Knight, Knott, Knowler, Lancey, Laughlan, Lawrence, Light, Mahon, Mann, Mansfield, Marshall, Martell, Martin, Mason, Matthews, McNeil, Merrick, Michael, Migture, Mills, Mitchell, Moore, Morely, Morton, Mullin, Neal, Neathway, Nettles, Nicholson, Nicolls, Nugent, O'Barry, Osborne, Parker, Parr, Parrott, Parry, Peake, Perrott, Perth, Peterkins, Pewtell, Phillips, Philpott, Phitt, Pile, Pitts, Poore, Powell, Ramsey, Ransford, Ratford, Ratley, Redman, Reece, Reeves, Reff, Rich, Roach, Roads, Roberts, Rochester, Rock, Rogers, Rumball, Russell, Rutter, Saiton, Sanders, Sandford, Seale, Seawell, Sisters, Slither, Smith, Solomon, Sparke, Stanley, Starr, Steward, Stroud, Suleven, Sumers, Swatham, Taylor, Thornhill, Thornton, Threscott, Tildgrew, Tomlinson, Towell, Townes, Townsend, Trigg, Turner, Vahon, Vincent, Wading, Walker, Ward, Warman, Warrington, Watkins, Webb, Webster, Welch, Wells, West, Whetstone, White, Wickstall, Wilberg, Williams, Wiseman, Wolbridge, Woodward, York, and Young’’.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Christ Church, Barbados

References