To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane

London Christ Church Newgate Street with St Leonard Foster Lane ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane, London
St Leonard Foster Lane church ruins
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1275; Separate registers exist for St Nicholas Shambles beginning 1538-1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Leonard Foster Lane beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Leonard Foster Lane church site

"Christ's Church, Newgate Street. This church is dedicated to the name and honour of Christ, and anciently belonged to the convent of Grey Friars or Franciscans, but falling to the crown, at the dissolution of the religious houses, Henry VIII bave it to the mayor, commonalty and the citizens of London, for a parish church, in lieu of the two churches of St Ewen, in Newgate Market, near the north corner of Eldeness, now called Warwick Lane, and of St Nicholas in the Shambles, on the north side of Newgate; both which churches and their parishes were then demolished, and as much of St Sepulchre's parish as laid within Newgate, was added to this  newly created parish, which was then Christ Church. From this time it was made a vicarage in the patronage of the mayor, commonalty and citizens of London, as governors of the Royal Hospital of St Bartholomew."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), Christ Church Newgate Street Parish united with St Leonard Foster Lane Parish.[2]


St Leonard Foster Lane belongs to Aldersgate Ward. The parish church has been demolished.


Only the tower of Christ Church Newgate stands today.[3] The parish was also known as Christ Church Greyfriars Newgate.

1848 parish description:
Christchurch with St. Leonard, Foster-lane are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is St. Bartholomew’s Hospital, and the Dean and Chapter of Westminster, the appropriators, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Christ Church Newgate Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[6][7]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[8]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[9]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[10][11][12]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[13]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[14]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Christ Church Newgate Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1754
1542-1753
1540-1754
ARCHIVE
1538-1753
1542-1753
1540-1753
FMP



1813-1836
FMP Bur



1538-1811
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1824-1916 1824-1916 1797-1931 1797-1931 1814-1836 1814-1836
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1538-1753
1542-1753
1540-1753
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1779, 1804-1874
1542-1880


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1940
1538-1940
1538-1940
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1836
1639-1836
1639-1836

St Leonard Foster Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Leonard Foster Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1639-1836
ANC 1 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809 1800-1809
ANC 2 1813-1831 1813-1831 1800-1831 1800-1831 1813-1836 1813-1836
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1836
1639-1836
1639-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Christchurch, Newgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Leonard, Foster Lane (including Bell Court and St Martin le Grand Street), Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Christchurch Newgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Leonard, Foster Lane, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/224); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1625 Subsidies[edit | edit source]

  • Christchurch, Newgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • Christchurch, Newgate, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Leonard, Foster Lane, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Martin le Grand, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

  • St Leonard, Foster Lane, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Leonard Foster Lane fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. Christ Church Newgate Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Christ Church churchyard site
Transcripts of early Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the Christ Church Newgate churchyard, as well as King Edward Street churchyard.[17]


A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Leonard Foster Lane churchyard.[17]

Some monumental inscriptions from these parish churchyards have been preserved at Postman's Park. For photographs, see Wikimedia Commons.

Christ Church Greyfriars Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (20+ entries)

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in Bagnio Court in Christ Church Newgate Street Parish the unique surname Bagnio. Those found at the Bluecoat School often received the surname Blewcoat or Bluecoat. Christchurch was also given as a surname.[18]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Leonard Foster Lane
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Christ Church Greyfriars

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. "Christ Church Newgate (Tower only)", Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
  4. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  5. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  15. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  16. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. 17.0 17.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.