To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chowan County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chowan County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Edenton
Organized: 1670
Parent County(s): Albemarle
Neighboring Counties
Bertie  • Gates  • Hertford  • Perquimans  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaChowanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-chowan.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Chowan County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and was originally called Shaftesbury Precinct of Albemarle County. It was renamed Chowan Precinct around 1681 for the Chowan River, itself named for the Chowanoac Indians who inhabited the region[1].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Chowan County Courthouse
101 S Broad St
Edenton, NC 27932
Phone: 252-482-3062
Chowan County Website

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate and court records[2]

Chowan County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1747 1913 1715 1678 1694 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1848-- It is said that many court records have been destroyed by acting clerk of court.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1670--Chowan County was created in 1670 from Shaftesbury Precinct of Albemarle County.
  • County seat: Edenton[4]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Chowan County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Chowan was formed in 1670 as a precinct in Albemarle County. It was named in honor of the Indian tribe Chowan, which lived in the northeastern part of the Colony. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, and Bertie, Hertford, Gates and Perquimans counties. The present land area is 172.64 square miles and the 2000 population was 14,150. In 1720, Edenton, which was named in honor of Governor Charles Eden, was established. In 1722 it was designated and has continued to be the county seat.[5]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Business Directories & Year Books

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Chowan County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Ballard's Bridge Established 1781.[6]
  • Yoppim River Established by 1775.[6]

Church of England

  • Chowan Parish, aka St. Paul's Church, Edenton, N.C. Established 1701. Current church built 1737-1774.[7] Hathaway's history (1900) is online.[8][9]
  • East Parish[10]
  • Northeast Parish[10]
  • South Parish Established 1722.[10]
  • Southwest Parish Established by 1721.[10]

Online records:

Vestry minutes have been published twice:

  • Cain, Robert J., ed. The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr. See Appendix.
  • Fouts, Raymond Parker. The Vestry Minutes of St. Paul's Parish, Chowan County, North Carolina, 1701-1776. Second Edition Cocoa, Fla., 1998. 1983 edition: FHL Book 975.6147 K2f.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

American Indians

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • de Clugny Coddington, John Insley. "The Marquis de Clugny at Edenton, North Carolina, 1795-1798," The American Genealogist, Vol. 42, No. 3 (Jul. 1966):144-148. FHL 973 D25aga v. 42; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
  • Jones Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latanes, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others: Notes. Albany, N.Y.: J. Munsell's Sons, 1891. FHL Fiche 6060672; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library; Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Mansfield - Dail, Louise Jordan and Doris Jordan McGue. Mansfields of Chowan and Perquimans Counties, North Carolina: and Allied Lines of Caruthers, Floyd and Williams 2004. FHL Book 929.273 M317dL.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncchowan.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Chowan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chowan County:

- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company B
- Third Battalion NC Light Artillery; Company B from Chowan Co., NC

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battle was fought in Chowan County:

Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1717-1770 - Barrett, David and Janet Searles Barrett. Chowan County North Carolina Tythables and Taxables 1717-1770: A Compilation of 121 Tax Lists and Records (Elizabeth City, North Carolina: Family Research Society of Northeastern North Carolina, 2010); FHL Book 975.6147 R4b 1717-1770.
  • 1717 - Chowan County, North Carolina 1717 Tax List (transcript) online at Singleton Descendants of Colonial North Carolina
  • 1717 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1717 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1721 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1721 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1753 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1753 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1772-1779 - Barrett, David and Janet Searles Barrett. Chowan County North Carolina Tythables and Taxables 1772-1779 (Elizabeth City, North Carolina: Family Research Society of Northeastern North Carolina, 2010); FHL Book 975.6147 R4b 1772-1779.
  • 1782-1826 - Barrett, David and Janet Searles Barrett. Chowan County North Carolina Tythables and Taxables 1782-1826 (Elizabeth City, North Carolina: Family Research Society of Northeastern North Carolina, 2010); FHL Book 975.6147 R4b 1772-1779.
  • 1785 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1785 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1785 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1785 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
  • 1788 - Chowan County Taxables 1788 (transcript) online at FamilySearch
  • 1800 - Chowan County Taxables 1800 (transcript) online at FamilySearch
  • 1815 - Tax Lists, Chowan County, 1815 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]


Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Chowan Eastern NC Digital Library
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Family Research Society of Northeastern NC
    P.O. Box 1425
    Elizabeth City, NC 27906-1425
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Chowan
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chowan County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. NCpedia)
  6. 6.0 6.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:475, 485. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 21. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; "St. Paul's Episcopal Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. J.R.B. Hathaway, "The First Church Built in North Carolina and Its Location, Etc.," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):256-266. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  9. J.R.B. Hathaway, "St. Paul's Church, Edenton, N.C.," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct. 1900):600-609. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), xxxiii, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.