Choseley, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Choseley, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Docking|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHOSELEY, an extra-parochial tract, in Docking district, Norfolk, 5½ miles W of Burnham-Westgate. 
Choseley is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
England Jurisdictions 1851 enables a search of contiguous parishes, click options tab.
Choseley is a tiny hamlet and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated between the villages of Titchwell and Docking and about 4 kilometres (2.5 mi) from each. The town of Fakenham is 20 km (12 mi) to the south-east, the town of King's Lynn is 25 km (16 mi) to the south-west, and the city of Norwich is 60 km (37 mi) to the south-east.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Choseley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Choseley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Norfolk Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Choseley on GenUKI
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, John Maruis,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72) Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Norfolk) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.