Chorlton upon Medlock St Luke, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Chorlton upon Medlock St Luke, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
St Luke Chorlton upon Medlock was built in the year 1804 as a chapel of ease; it lay within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Parish. It was one of three pre-1851 chapels serving this township region next to Manchester City proper, and included All Saints and St Saviour. Other places in the parish include: All Saints and Chorlton on Medlock St Saviour. It was taken from and lying within the parish boundaries of Manchester ancient Parish. All Saints the a parochial chapel and with St Luke became one of five chapelries within Chorlton upon Medlock township, including also St Paul, St Saviour's and St Stephen [which also see].
The church was closed in 1962.
"CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK, a township, with eight chapelries, and a sub-district in Chorlton district, in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies within Manchester borough, and includes the south-eastern part of Manchester city. The chapelries built, were All Saints, St Ambrose, St Clement, St. Luke, St Matthias, St. Saviour, St. Stephen, and St. Paul. St. Luke's was in operation by 1805.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes
Church records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Onine transcriptions exist for St Luke Chorlton upon Medlock as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and Denys (the Cathedral)--to which it is attached. The online data includes numerous transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials from each of the eight chapelries lying within Chorlton upon Medlock township and all within the boundary of this the largest ancient parish in all of England. Displayed below are these chapelries and the links to the available online data content located at the web sites so indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = findmypast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST LUKE Chapelry (1805) Indexes|
|FS||1802-1911 - part.||1859-1930 - part.||1819-1871|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1808) Indexes|
|FS||1808-1910||1837-1930||1820-1881 - part.|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST AMBROSE Chapelry (1884) Indexes|
|CHORTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1793) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1876) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST PAUL Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1836) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL (the ANCIENT PARISH) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full List of all (over 150) chapelries and district churches within the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) and see the links to all available online data content for each chapelry, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & DENYS page.
Original Parish registers for St. Luke's Church, Chorlton-upon-Medlock, are housed at the Manchester Central Library.
FamilySearch.org has microfilmed these original registers for the years 1805-1897 and are available on microfilm of original records.
Chorlton-upon-Medlock is a chapelry in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral).
From FamilySearch's online catalog:
|Baptisms, 1805-1891; burials, 1819-1855; marriages, 1859-1897.
||FHL BRITISH Film |
Chorlton-upon-Medlock- St Luke
Transcripts of burials 1819-1871 available on-line at Lancashire OPC.
Baptisms-1805-1891- MFPR 10
Baptisms-1891-1919- MFPR 1289
Baptisms-1919-1962- MFPR 1290
Burials-1819-1855- MFPR 10
Burials-1846-1871- MFPR 1290
Marriages-1859-1897- MFPR 10
Marriages-1897-1961- MFPR 1290
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Bishop's transcripts for All Saints Church and St. Luke's Church, Chorlton-upon-Medlock, 1814-1840
Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts from the chapelries of All Saints and St. Luke in the township of Chorlton-upon-Medlock (also called Chorlton- Row), in the parish of Manchester.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/207
|Baptisms and burials of All Saints Church, 1820-1834; baptisms of St. Luke's Church, 1814-1840.
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1545649 Item 1
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
- http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/place_page.jsp?p_id=20875 Chorlton Upon Medlock
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the local administrative units of England. Vol. 2, London: The Royal Historical Society. 1991. pages 157 & 185
- A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 607-612. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50877 Date accessed: 29 June 2010.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted.
Manchester Images Collection www.images.manchester.gov.uk. for images of the old church