Cholesbury, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Cholesbury


Guide to Cholesbury, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cholesbury, Buckinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cottesloe
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Aylesbury
Registration District Aylesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Mursley
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

CHOULESBURY, or Cholesbury, a parish in Aylesbury district, Bucks; on the verge of the county, 3 miles S of Tring, and 3¾ SW of Tring r. station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cholesbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Cholesbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1536-1918
1534-1933
1536-1992
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG

1586-1810


IGI 1583-1719, 1754-1874
1586-1719, 1754-1838


FS Catalog PRs
1583-1887
1583-1887
1583-1887
FS Catalog BTs
1575-1829
1575-1829
1575-1829

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cholesbury on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 4 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk