Choctaw County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Choctaw County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Choctaw County

Choctaw County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Choctaw County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Hugo
Courthouse
OklahomaChoctawCourthouse.jpg
Address Choctaw County Courthouse
300 E. Duke Street
Hugo, Oklahoma 74743
Phone: 580.326.3778


Choctaw County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Choctaw County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1907 1907 1907 1907

County Courthouse

Choctaw County Courthouse
300 E Duke Street
Hugo, OK 74743
Phone: 580.326.3778 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court
records 1907; County Clerk has land records[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Choctaw County was created 16 July 1907 from Choctaw Lands.
County seat: Hugo [2]

Description

The name is derived from Chahta, the mythical founder of the Choctaw people..[3] Founded in 1907 and the County Seat is Hugo.[4]

Boundary Changes

See an interactive map of Choctaw County border changes.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [5]

  • Apple
  • Boswell
  • Fallon
  • Fort Towson
  • Frogville
  • Gay
  • Grant
  • Hamden
  • Hugo (county seat)
  • Messer
  • Nelson
  • Ringold
  • Rufe
  • Sawyer
  • Slim
  • Soper
  • Spencerville
  • Swink

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 21,862
1920 32,144 47.0%
1930 24,142 −24.9%
1940 28,358 17.5%
1950 20,405 −28.0%
1960 15,637 −23.4%
1970 15,141 −3.2%
1980 17,203 13.6%
1990 15,302 −11.1%
2000 15,342 0.3%
2010 15,205 −0.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Choctaw County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Choctaw County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okchoctaw.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Choctaw County

Map showing Civil war battles in Oklahoma

WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Choctaw County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News (Paris, TX) from 1925 that may include residents from Choctaw County.

Probate

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Choctaw - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Choctaw County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 2
Hugo, OK 74743
Telephone: 580-969-9863
E-mail:choctawcountyokgensoc@live.com
Website

OKCHOCTA - Choctaw County OKGenWeb

Email: okchocta@outlook.com

Website

Frisco Depot Museum
307 North B Street
PO Box 577
Hugo, OK 74743
Telephone: 1-580-326-6630
E-mail:friscodepot@live.com
Website

Choctaw County Historical Society
307 North B Street
PO Box 577
Hugo, OK 74743
Telephone: 1-580-326-6630
E-mail:friscodepot@live.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chocktaw County, Oklahoma. Page 557 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choctaw,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/choctaw/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Choctaw County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choctaw_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)