Chittenden County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Vermont
Chittenden County

Guide to Chittenden County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Chittenden County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Chittenden County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 22, 1789
County Seat Burlington
Courthouse
VermontChittendenCourthouse.jpg
Address Chittenden County Courthouse
175 Main Street, Burlington, VT 05401-8310
Phone: 802-863-3467
802.863.7481
Chittenden County Website


County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial, probate and land records; County Clerk has divorce records from 1829 and court records from 1798.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Chittenden County, Vermont
Bolton 1763
Burlington 1763
Charlotte 1762
Colchester 1763
Essex 1763
Hinesburg 1762
Huntington 1763
Jericho 1763
Milton 1763
Richmond 1794
Shelburne 1763
St. George 1763
Underhill 1763
Williston 1763 [1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

Created 22 October 1787 from Colonial lands. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Towns and Cities


Extinct Town

Unincorporated

  • Buel's Gore [3]

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Franklin | Grand Isle | Lamoille | Washington | Clinton, New York| Essex, New York

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VTGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
VTTombstone Project
VTInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land

Maps

Chittenden County

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies I and K
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies,Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical and Genealogical Societies

Charlotte Historical Society
4205 Ethan Allen Highway
Charlotte, VT 05445

Chittenden County Historical Society
PO Box 1576
Burlington, VT 05402
E-mail:cchsvt@gmail.com
Phone: 802-878-4088 or 802-985-3063
Website

Colchester Historical Society
Colchester, VT 05446
Website

Essex Community Historical Society
PO Box 8388
Essex, VT 05451
Phone: 802-879-0849
E-mail:essexcommunityhistoricalsociety@myfairpoint.net

Essex Junction Historical Society
11 Maple Street
Essex Junction, VT 05452
Phone: 802-878-8654
E-mail:bcklite@aol.com

Milton Historical Society
Museum
13 School Street
Milton, VT 05468
E-mail:miltonhistorical@yahoo.com
Phone: 802-893-1604 or 802-893-2340

Winooski Historical Society
Museum at Champlain Mill
20 Winoskik Falls Way #2
Winooski, VT
Phone: 802-655-6424
E-mail:winooskihistory@onioncity.com
Website

Westford Historical Society
PO Box 21
Westford, VT 05494
Phone:802-878-8890
E-mail: carolinebrown802@myfairpoint.net

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  3. Leclerc, 394.