Chiswick St Nicholas, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chiswick St Nicholas

Guide to Chiswick St Nicholas, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chiswick St Nicholas, Middlesex
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Brentford
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
London Metropolitan Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHISWICK (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4½ miles W by S from London.[1]

Chiswick St. Nicholas, an ancient parish, was built by 1678, "in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4½ miles W by S from London".[2] Within this parish were several chapelries attached to it and lying within its boundary:

  • All Saints Mission Church, Beverley Road - 1901
  • Christ Church, Turnham Green - 1845
  • St. James, Gunnersbury - 1888
  • St. Mary Magdalene's, Bennett Street - 1860
  • St. Michael & All Angels Bedford Park - 1879
  • St. Paul's, Grove Park - 1870

The following denominations, at least historically, had the following chapels lying within the parish prior to 1900[3]

Congregationalists/Independents[edit | edit source]

  • Chiswick Lane Chapel- 1812; chapel acquired by Baptists in 1866
  • Strand-on-the-Green 1833
  • Turnham Green or Gunnersbury Congregational Church - 1873

Methodists[edit | edit source]

  • Chiswick Methodist Church, Sutton Court Road - 1845
  • Strand-on-the-Green Meeting - about 1875
  • Primitive Methodist, formerly Congregationalist and Baptist Chapel, Chiswick La. - 1882 (see above)

Baptists[edit | edit source]

  • Chiswick Baptist Church (formerly Cong. Chapel, Chiswick La. - 1866
  • Iron Chapel, Annandale Road - 1882
  • Gunnersbury Baptist Chapel - 1873

Reformed Episcopalians[edit | edit source]

  • Emmanuel Reformed Episcopal Church - 1883

Salvation Army[edit | edit source]

  • Chiswick Hall, High Road - 1890

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Chiswick St Nicholas Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chiswick on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 13 November 2013.
  2. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chinley - Chiswick," In Topographical Dictionary of England 599-603. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848). British History Online.
  3. 'Chiswick: Protestant nonconformity', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 7: Acton, Chiswick, Ealing and Brentford, West Twyford, Willesden (1982), pp. 93-95. British History Online. Date accessed: 10 February 2012