Chisago County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Chisago County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chisago County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||March 31, 1851|
|County Seat||Center City|
|Address||Chisago County Courthouse|
313 North Main Street
Center City, MN 55012
Chisago County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Chisago Lake. The County is located in the east central area of the state.
Chisago County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1852, court records from 1880 and divorce records; Probate Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- County seat: Center City 
- For a brief history of how Chisago County was named, click here, then select Chisago County.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Cities[edit | edit source]
Townships[edit | edit source]
Amador Township | Chisago Lake Township | Fish Lake Township | Franconia Township | Lent Township | Nessel Township | Rushseba Township | Shafer Township | Sunrise Township | Wyoming Township
Unincorporated Communities[edit | edit source]
Almelund | Franconia | Palmdale | Rush Point | Stark | Sunrise
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Chisago – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Chisago County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Chisago County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Chisago County.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company M.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- - 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chisago County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Chisago County Historical Society
PO Box 146
13100 3rd Ave N
Lindstrom MN 55045-0146
Chisago County Genealogical Group
PO Box 360
Center City, MN 55012
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chisago County, MN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Minnesota Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Minnesota Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Chisago County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Chisago County GenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Chisago County
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Chisago County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chisago_County,_Minnesota accessed 8 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chisago County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chisago County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).