Chippewa County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Minnesota
Chippewa County

Guide to Chippewa County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Chippewa County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Chippewa County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1862
County Seat Montevideo
Courthouse
Address Chippewa County Courthouse
629 North 11th Street
Montevideo, MN 56265
Phone: 320-269-7774 (Administrator)
Phone: 320-269-9431
Chippewa County Website


County Information

Chippewa County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1870 1870 1850 1870 1872

County Courthouse




Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1870,
County Recorder has land records from 1870.
City Clerks have burial records. [2]

History

Parent County

1862--Chippewa County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce, Eliminated 20 Feb 1862, and Davis, Eliminated 20 Feb 1862, Counties. County seat: Montevideo [3]

  • For a brief history of how Chippewa County was name, click here.  Then select Chippewa County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Clara City | Granite Falls | Maynard | Milan | Montevideo | Watson

Townships

Big Bend Township | Crate Township | Grace Township | Granite Falls Township | Havelock Township | Kragero Township | Leenthrop Township | Lone Tree Township | Louriston Township | Mandt Township | Rheiderland Township | Rosewood Township | Sparta Township | Stoneham Township | Tunsberg Township | Woods Township

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Lutheran

Granite Falls

  • Records of Granite Falls Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Milan

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Milan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Montevideo

  • Records of the Trinity Lutheran Church, Montevideo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chippewa County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnchippewa.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chippewa County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Chippewa County Historical Society
PO Box 303
151 Pioneer Drive (Jct. 7 and 59)
Montevideo MN 56265-0303
Telephone: 320 269-7636
Website

West Central Minnesota Historical Center
University of Minnesota–Morris
Morris, MN 56267
Website

Friesen Historical Society
PO Box 26
Clara City, MN 56222

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chippewa County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.