Chinautla, Guatemala, Guatemala Genealogy

Guatemala

Guatemala Department

Municipality of Chinautla

Guide to Municipality of Chinautla ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History

• Originally, the Pokoman people occupied the region in the area currently occupied by the modern department of Chimaltenango. After the Spanish invasion of 1526, the population of Chinautla was founded in the place known as «de la Cruz».
• When the first Constitution was decreed, it was mentioned that Chinautla had to be part of the district of Guatemala.
• The municipal capital was the victim of the Guatemala earthquake of February 4, 1976, which forced, due to landslides and destruction, to form a new population, which was to be called "New Chinautla." Two new settlements called "Antigua Chinautla" and "Vieja Chinautla" formed in the original destroyed territory.
• The municipality of Chinautla has a population of approximately 77,000 people

Civil Registration

• Registros civiles, 1877-1831 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
• Registros civiles, 1877-1936 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.

Parish Records

• There are no records for only the municipality of Chinautla. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Census Records

• There are no records for only the municipality of Chinautla. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Cemeteries

• Cementerio de Chinautla

Localities

Azacualpilla Buena Vista El Dulce Nombre El Fiscal El Paraíso

El Triunfo La Concepción Los Cubes Los Mixcos Los Planes

Los Tecomates Sanguayabá Sansur