China Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
China Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Record Types
China Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for China is Twlisa and Chincm
Asia
China

Guide to China ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

China is a country in Asia bordered by Mongolia, Russia, North Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Kazakhstan. The official language is Standard Chinese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with China Research

Links to articles on getting started with China research.

China Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in China research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

China Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in China. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

China Map no colors.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in China. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

China has 23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions (zizhiqu, singular and plural), and 4 municipalities (shi, singular and plural)

Provinces, Autonomous Regions, Municipalities

Map Number Locality
8 Anhui 安徽
9 Fujian 福建
21 Gansu 甘肃
15 Guangdong 广东
18 Guizhou 贵州
16 Hainan 海南
1 Hebei 河北
5 Heilongjiang 黑龙江
12 Henan 河南
13 Hubei 湖北
14 Hunan 湖南
6 Jiangsu 江苏
10 Jiangxi 江西
4 Jilin 吉林
3 Liaoning 辽宁
22 Qinghai 青海
20 Shaanxi 陕西
11 Shandong 山东
2 Shanxi 山西
17 Sichuan 四川
19 Yunnan 云南
7 Zhejiang 浙江
23 Taiwan 台灣
25 Guangxi 广西
24 Inner Mongolia 内蒙古
27 Ningxia 宁夏
26 Tibet 西藏
28 Xinjiang 新疆
29 Beijing 北京
32 Chongqing 重庆
31 Shanghai 上海
30 Tianjin 天津
33 Hong Kong 香港
34 Macau 澳門

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "China," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China, accessed 3 May 2016.