Chile Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Chile Wiki Topics
Flag of Chile.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Chile Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
South America
Chile

Guide to Chile ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

Country Information

Chile is a country in South America bordered by Peru, Bolivia, and Argentina. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Chile Research

Links to articles on getting started with Chile research.

See More Research Strategies

Chile Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Chile research.



{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Chile

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Chile Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Chile Clickable Map

Arica y ParinacotaTarapacáAntofagastaAtacamaCoquimboValparaísoSantiago Metropolitan RegionLibertador General Bernardo O'HigginsMauleBío BíoAraucaníaAraucaníaLos RíosLos RíosLos LagosLos LagosAysén del General Carlos Ibáñez del CampoMagallanes y la Antártica ChilenaChileRegions.png
About this image

Regions

Chile is divided into 15 regions, 54 provinces and 346 communes. Each region is both named and numbered (designated by a Roman Numeral). The only exception is the Santiago Metropolitan Region (Región Metropolitana de Santiago), which is designated with RM. Provinces are listed for each region.

Legend: Regions: Provinces:
I Tarapacá Iquique
Tamarugal
II Antofagasta Antofagasta
El Loa
Tocopilla
III Atacama Chañaral
Copiapó
Huasco
IV Coquimbo Choapa
Elqui
Limarí
V Valparaíso Isla de Pascua
Los Andes
Marga Marga
Petorca
Quillota
San Antonio
San Felipe de Aconcagua
Valparaíso
VI Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins Cachapoal
Cardenal Caro
Colchagua
VII Maule Cauquenes
Curicó
Linares
Talca
VIII Bío Bío Arauco
Biobío
Concepción
Ñuble
IX Araucanía Cautín
Malleco
X Los Lagos Chiloé
Llanquihue
Osorno
Palena
XI Aysén del General Carlos Ibáñez del Campo Aysén
Capitán Prat
Coyhaique
General Carrera
XII Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena Antártica Chilena
Magallanes
Tierra del Fuego
Última Esperanza
XIV Los Ríos Ranco
Valdivia
XV Arica y Parinacota Arica
Parinacota
RM Santiago Metropolitan Region Chacabuco
Cordillera
Maipo
Melipilla
Santiago
Talagante

More Chile Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Chile.


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

Research Tutorials

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Chile," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chile, accessed 24 March 2016.