|Chile Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Chile ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
Getting Started with Chile Research
Links to articles on getting started with Chile research.
Chile Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Chile research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Chile
- Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
- If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Chile Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.
Chile Clickable Map
More Chile Research Strategies
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Chile.
- Chile Resources
- Improve your Search Results
- Researching Easter Island
- Latin American Research online tutoral
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- FamilySearch Chile Record Collections
- Family History Center locator map
- Search page
- Introduction to Hispanic Research
- U.S. Hispanic Immigration
- U.S. Hispanic Immigrants: Finding their Place of Origin
- Improve your Search Results in FamilySearch Hispanic Records
- Reading Spanish Handwritten Records:
- Lesson 1: The Spanish Alphabet
- Lesson 2: Words and Dates
- Lesson 3: Reading Spanish Records
- Hispanic Online Resources
- Wikipedia contributors, "Chile," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chile, accessed 24 March 2016.