Chicot County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chicot County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Chicot County
 

Guide to Chicot County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lake Village
Organized: October 25, 1823
Parent County(s): Arkansas [1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashley  • Bolivar (MS)  • Desha  • Drew  • East Carroll (LA)  • Issaquena (MS)  • Morehouse (LA)  • Washington (MS)  • West Carroll (LA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasChicotCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-chicot.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named is of French origin, which is translated to stumpy, or knobby. The County Seat is Lake Village and was founded October 25, 1823. It is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Chicot County Courthouse
108 Main Street
Lake Village, AR 71653
Phone: 870.265.8000
Chicot County website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1839.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records Court has court records from 1824, along with land and divorce records.[3]

Chicot County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1839 1914* 1824 1823 1839 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1823--Chicot County was created 25 October 1823 from Arkansas County. 
  • County seat: Lake Village[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Bowie
Ghost towns
  • Carlton
  • Planters


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Chicot County on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture[7]

  • 1823 - October, The county was carved out of Arkansas County by the territorial legislature.
  • 1900 - Before this time, none of the towns in the county experienced much growth.
  • 1900-1910 - The population of Chicot County significantly rose, however, from 1900 to 1910. This was due in large part to the coming of the Memphis, Helena, Louisiana Railroad to Lake Village in 1903.
  • 1927 - The economic growth was cut short by the Flood of 1927, which put nearly thirteen percent of the state under water. Since most people in the county were farmers, they were hurt most by the flood.
  • 1942, October-1944, June - During World War II, two of the ten internment camps in the nation for Japanese Americans were located in southeast Arkansas, and one of these was located in Chicot County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Chicot, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 1,165
1840 3,806 226.7%
1850 5,115 34.4%
1860 9,234 80.5%
1870 7,214 −21.9%
1880 10,117 40.2%
1890 11,419 12.9%
1900 14,528 27.2%
1910 21,987 51.3%
1920 21,749 −1.1%
1930 22,646 4.1%
1940 27,452 21.2%
1950 22,306 −18.7%
1960 18,990 −14.9%
1970 18,164 −4.3%
1980 17,793 −2.0%
1990 15,713 −11.7%
2000 14,117 −10.2%
2010 11,800 −16.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1839-1931 Chicot County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Dockets 1874-1878; Executor and guardian bonds 1878-1915; Administration bonds 1839-1877; Administration bonds and letters 1840-1931; Letters of administration 1869-1926 ; Letters of guardianship 1865-1913; Minutes 1839-1860; Probate records 1860-1893; Wills, miscellaneous probate records 1840-1930.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Drew CountyDesha CountyAshley CountyWest Carroll ParishEast Carroll ParishIssaquena CountyBolivar CountyWashington CountySharkey CountyMorehouse ParishAR CHICOT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Chicot County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company B

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Calvary (Union)[8], Company C; and the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[9], Company A.

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Chicot County.

  • June 6, 1864 = Old River Lake, also known as Ditch Bayou, Lake Chicot, Lake Village, Furlough, Fish Bayou, or Grand Lake[10]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chicot County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Chicot County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicot_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chicot County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Chicot County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicot_County,_Arkansas#Communities, accessed 30 August 2018.
  7. Scott Cashion, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=753 : accessed January 6, 2016), “Chicot County.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, 1987), pp. 33-92 FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, 1988), p. 2 FHL book 976.7 M2a
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.