Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Chickasaw County

Guide to Chickasaw County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Houston, Okolona
Organized: 1 March 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clay  • Lee  • Monroe  • Pontotoc  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiChickasawCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Chickasaw County.svg.png
Adoption
Mississippi Chickasaw County Courthouse 2nd Judicial District

County Information

Description

This county was named for the Chickasaw people. Chickasaw County has Houston and Okolona as its seats. The county is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Chickasaw County Courthouse 1st District
1 Pinson Square
Houston, MS 38851-0000
Phone: 662-456-2531
Fax: 662-456-5295

Chickasaw County Courthouse 2nd District
234 W. Main St
Okolona, MS 38860
Phone: 662-447-2092
Fax: 662-447-5024

Chickasaw County Website

Clerk Circuit Court in Houston, has marriage, divorce, probate and court records and all land records for the county.
Clerk Circuit Court in Okolona, has marriage records from 1877 and court records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and probate records from 1886.[3]

Chickasaw County is divided into two Judicial Districts giving the county two seats, one in Houston, and one in Okolona.

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1863 1836 1836 1840

Record Loss

1863 Some records were lost in a fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Chickasaw County was created 1 March 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Houston, Okolona[4]
  • 1852 Calhoun County was organized in 1852 by the Mississippi Legislature with land from Chickasaw, Lafayette and Yalobusha Counties. Pittsboro was established the same year to be the county seat which was briefly at Hartford. The courthouse at Pittsboro, burned December 22, 1922, along with all records except five books of abstracts of land records.
  • 1871 Clay County was formed on May 12, 1871 during Mississippi's Reconstruction Period from parts of Chickasaw, Lowndes, Oktibbeha and Monroe counties. The new county was originally named Colfax, in honor of Schuyler Colfax, Ulysses S. Grant's vice president. After reconstruction rule ended in Mississippi the county was renamed Clay during 1876, in honor of Henry Clay, American statesman, who was secretary of state under John Quincy Adams.
  • 1874 Webster County was established on April 6, 1874, under the name of Sumner County, and was organized from parts of Chickasaw, Choctaw, Montgomery, and Oktibbeha Counties. On January 30, 1882, its name was changed to Webster, in honor of the great statesman Daniel Webster.

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Chickasaw County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Chickasaw County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Chickasaw County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chickasaw County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

  • A History of Chickasaw County, Mississippi v. 1. county history; a pictorial account to the past with commentaries regarding business, commerce, communities, churches, education, wars and memories; family histories -- v. 2. early history; pictorial account and commentaries regarding communities, people and military service; family histories. and maps
  • Chickasaw times past Periodicals.

Maps and Gazetteers

Pontotoc CountyLee CountyMonroe CountyClay CountyWebster CountyCalhoun CountyMS CHICKASAW.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Chickasaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chickasaw County:

- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company B - Johnson Partisans
Company G - Isbell’s Company
Company I - Clarke’s Company
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company G - Barry Guards
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company L - Williams’ Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company E - Walker’s Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company E - Walker’s Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Chickasaw Mounted Guards
- Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Prairie Rifles, aka Prairie Rifleman
Company H - Chickasaw Guards

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Chickasaw County:

  • February 22, 1864 Okolona[5]
  • Map showing Civil war battles in Mississippi.

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Chickasaw County Historical and Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 42
    Houston, MS 38851
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Chickasaw, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickasaw_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)