To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chesterfield County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Chesterfield County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Chesterfield County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Chesterfield County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1749
County Seat Chesterfield
Courthouse
VirginiaChesterfieldCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Philip Dormer Stanhope, Fourth Earl of Chesterfield, a prominent English statesman who had been the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland[1].

Chesterfield County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County Courthouse
9500 Courthouse Road
P O Box 125
Chesterfield, Va 23832
Phone: 804-748-1241

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1771,
land records from 1749, divorce, probate and court records[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1771 1855 1746 1749 1740 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Chesterfield County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773)

The county was named after British statesman Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773).[4]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1749--Chesterfield County was created 1 May 1749 from Henrico County.
County seat: Chesterfield [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Chesterfield County Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

  • Bass - King, George Harrison Sanford. "Bass Family Bible, Chesterfield County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1965):81-83. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Chesterfield County, Virginia Cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
179014,214
180014,4881.9%
18109,979−31.1%
182018,00380.4%
183018,6373.5%
184017,148−8.0%
185017,4892.0%
186019,0168.7%
187018,470−2.9%
188025,08535.8%
189026,2114.5%
190018,804−28.3%
191021,29913.3%
192020,496−3.8%
193026,04927.1%
194031,18319.7%
195040,40029.6%
196071,19776.2%
197076,8557.9%
1980141,37283.9%
1990209,27448.0%
2000259,90324.2%
For tips on accessing Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


1783 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Bethel (1799).
  2. Chesterfield (1773)[5]
  3. Salem (1794).[5]. A history is available: FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 244. Includes a list of persons buried in the cemetery. A list of members was published in Virginia Settlers (Winter 1996): FHL Book 975.5 D2c.
  4. Skinquarter (1778)[5]
  5. Spring Creek (1790)[5]
  6. Tomahawk (1777)[5]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Chesterfield County fell within the bounds of the Middle District Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png See also Dale Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also King William Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Manchester Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Chesterfield County is available online.[6]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 200 genealogies have been published about Chesterfield County families. To view a list, visit Chesterfield County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Immigration[edit | edit source]

Bermuda Hundred has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

  • Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Digital version at American Ancestors.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 7 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Manchester and Chesterfield County.[7]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Cox, T. Bransford, John B. Watkins, and Chesterfield County (Va.). Board of Supervisors. Chesterfield County, Virginia, Its History and Present Condition: Prepared Under the Supervision of John B. Watkins, as Authorized by the Board of Supervisors of the County, August, 1906. Richmond, Va.: Williams Printing Co., 1907. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view).

Maps[edit | edit source]

Richmond (Independent City)Hopewell (Independent City)Colonial Heights (Independent City)Petersburg (Independent City)Henrico CountyCharles City CountyPrince George CountyDinwiddie CountyAmelia CountyPowhatan CountyGoochland CountyVA CHESTERFIELD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Chesterfield County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 115-116.]

Military[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Chesterfield County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Chesterfield County, see pp. 70, 107.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions, With an Added Index to States. FHL Collection 973 M24ur; Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Chesterfield County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Chesterfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Chesterfield County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Chesterfield County on page 129.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive
War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County men served in the 23rd Regiment.[8]

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Chesterfield County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Chesterfield County, pp. 67-68.]
  • Chesterfield, County Virginia, County Clerk, Muster rolls, 1861-1865, 1812-1813 (Richmond, Virginia, Virginia State Library and Archives, 1992) FHL Film 1929610 30926 Item 2
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy:

  • Information about the following regiments can be found FHL book 975.5594 H2L titled Chesterfield, An Old Virginia County.
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Militia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Reserves (Confederate) (Chesterfield Reserves)
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate)
- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Alstadt Grays).[9]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Chesterfield Central Guards) and Company I (Chester Grays) (Southern Braves).[10]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battles[edit | edit source]

The following Civil War battles were fought in Chesterfield County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

A free index to Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.


Digital Images of Chesterfield County Wills 1774 to 1785.  See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers

Digital Images  of Chesterfield County Wills 1785 to 1800.  See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers

Online Probate Records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virignia: Chesterfield County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1963):174-176. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Taxation[edit | edit source]

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • 1747 Chesterfield County Tax Lists 1747 List of Tithes online at Genealogy Trails - free.
  • 1747-1778 Chesterfield County Tithe Lists 1747-1778 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1747-1821 - Chesterfield County, Virginia Lists of Tithables and Insolvents, 1747-1821. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1747-1821 - Heinegg, Paul. "Chesterfield County Tithables, 1747-1821," Free African Americans.com, available online. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1747-1778 - Chesterfield County - the Colonial Tithe Lists 1747-1778, CD, available for purchase at Binns Genealogy.
  • 1756 - Kolbe, J.C. "Chesterfield Tithables, 1756," The Southside Virginian, Vol. 2; online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1756 - Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2007. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. Includes annotated 1756 tithe list of Chesterfield County.
  • 1762 - Hart, L.H. "Chesterfield Tithables, 1762," The Southside Virginian, Vol. 3; online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1786-1811 Chesterfield County Personal Property Tax Lists 1786-1811 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1786, 1788 - Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. Sources for this publication are the 1786 personal property tax list and a partial reading of the 1788 personal property tax list (only published names that do not appear on 1786 list). Chesterfield County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1788 - Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Chesterfield County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 115-116.
  • 1790, 1801 - Indexed images of the 1790 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Chesterfield County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1791, 1802 - Indexed images of the 1791 and 1802 Land Tax Lists of Chesterfield County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 - "Chesterfield County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):254-258; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):23-28; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):89-95. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • 1815 - Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Chesterfield County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

Chesterfield County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Chesterfield County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chesterfield_County,_Virginia
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chesterfield County, Virginia. Page 712 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chesterfield County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Wikipedia Contributors, "Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Stanhope,_4th_Earl_of_Chesterfield, accessed 12 January 2012.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 254. Digital version at Google Books.
  6. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  7. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  8. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 68. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  9. Michael A. Cavanaugh, 6th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 43.
  10. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  13. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  14. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.